Search:

SIYE Time:2:18 on 18th September 2021

Reviews For Combat Catalyst

Reviewer: jennyelf Signed Date: 2008.03.03 - 07:34PM Title: Combat Catalyst

starstarstarstarstar

I loved the effect of the burning wheel. There is always a burning wheel isn't there? One o fthe things I love about this universe is that girls don't just sit on the sidelines. With that in mind, I love what Luna did. :)

Author's Response: It does seem to be a tragic failing of mine; I just can't seem to be able to write weak female characters. Maybe it's because my sister practices kickboxing and played rugby for her university. ;-)



Reviewer: running_swift Signed Date: 2006.02.01 - 12:46PM Title: Combat Catalyst

starstarstarstarstar

Pink... fog? Pink fog? Pink... *shakes head* Yes, well, I found this hilariously great! Obviously you have a not-so-soft spot for Snape, and you enjoy writing Luna. She's mad, she is. I do like Luna much more now that I've read your fics. Never really thought about what she'd be like as a main-ish character. Trust Hermione to jot down every single detail of the battle... although that would just be a very her thing to do; besides, it was useful, right? I love that bit with Luna tying up the Death Eater whilst Harry and Ron are just talking about the erm... effective trick. Great trick, that. Have never had the pleasure of trying it, unfortunately. :p Yet again, I praise Luna; for Neville. Nice cockney accent, by the way, Sergean'! I thought I'd never see the day that Neville would take charge; military-style or not! You know, this has got to be one of the most enjoyable fics I've read. You write so well that it's funny without you actually having to realise it. If that made sense. Yes. Well. Great, I say! Optimistic adventures!

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! Thanks!



Reviewer: ElusiveEvan Signed Date: 2005.12.30 - 08:31PM Title: Combat Catalyst

starstarstarstarstar

Excellent of course, yes loved the Einsteinism, and the Seargent-major charm made me giggle!



Reviewer: michelle Anonymous Date: 2005.12.14 - 10:24PM Title: Combat Catalyst

starstarstarstarstar

awsem,superb,great,more more more

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: o0xBeCky Signed Date: 2005.12.13 - 08:54PM Title: Combat Catalyst

starstarstarstarstar

awesome story.i agree w/ the other person- i love how you portrayed luna. you should try writing longer ones...your a good writer and one with chapters could be amazing !!

Author's Response: Yup, I'm working on a longer fic; have a look at Harry Potter And The Dark Legion for Chapter One.



Reviewer: CRAZY4YO0Hx3 Anonymous Date: 2005.12.13 - 04:18PM Title: Combat Catalyst

starstarstarhalf-star

i liked it a lot. i loved the way you portrayed luna, becuase a lot of people dont get her character right, and you hit it dead on. good take on the whole thing.

Author's Response: Yeah, Luna's one of my favourite characters (apart from anything else, I see a lot of myself in her), and I think that comes across in the writing. I also had a lot of help from Michelle_31a, the widely acknowledged queen of writing Luna, so much so that her Luna has for many people superseded the canonical Luna as the "real" Luna. I've got some fun stuff in store for Luna in my 7th-year fic, Harry Potter And The Dark Legion, too. Think ghillie suits and you'll get the idea... ;-)

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: sammy Anonymous Date: 2005.12.11 - 05:30PM Title: Combat Catalyst

starstarstarstarstar

The plot was too predictable, and the characters weren't portrayed quite right. However, the writing was fair, and the grammar was good.

Author's Response: Feel free to give more detailed criticism; there's very little I can do with that review. If you had instead mentioned in what way the plot was predictable (which, for the record, I don't believe it was), how the characters differed from your view of them, and so on. Oh, and the grammar wasn't "good", it was impeccable. You may not like my plot, or the character, or the writing, but nobody can fault my grammar. In my world, grammar errors are things that happen to other people. Anyway, the point is this: by all means post criticism, even strongly worded criticism; I actually enjoy being told what could be improved. But if you're going to criticise, give specifics and mention how it could be improved. A brisk "the plot was predictable" is useles to an author.

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Breanie Anonymous Date: 2005.11.22 - 10:05PM Title: Combat Catalyst

starstarstarstarstar

i loved it! that is exaclty what i want to happen - couple wise - Nevile and Luna, Ginny and Harry, and Ron and Hermione Great story!

Author's Response: Yup - two great canon ships and one pseudo-canon one. Thanks!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Nemo1024 Anonymous Date: 2005.11.12 - 09:26AM Title: Combat Catalyst

...oh, and of course the classic point of a burning wheels always rolling out of the debris. Nice take on the explosion scene!

Author's Response: Thanks, glad you liked it!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Nemo1024 Anonymous Date: 2005.11.12 - 09:17AM Title: Combat Catalyst

starstarstarstarstar

There was something definitely of Terry Pratchett here.... "Monstrous Regiment" for one! Oh and I loved this line: "... immersed in a small and very private world of pain." You've done a brilliant work!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: soxxloony Anonymous Date: 2005.11.12 - 01:09AM Title: Combat Catalyst

starstarstarstarstar

haha funny. cute and sexy with an evil mix.

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: harrypgirl Signed Date: 2005.11.04 - 07:20AM Title: Combat Catalyst

starstarstarstarstar

HEHHEHEDHHHEHEHEH GGGGGGGGGGGGGOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOODDDDDDDDDDD DD MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMAAAAAAAAAAAAAAATTTTTTTTTT TTTTTTTTTTTEEEEEEEE

Author's Response: Um... right. Thanks, I think.



Reviewer: Sunshine Anonymous Date: 2005.11.03 - 07:12PM Title: Combat Catalyst

starstarstarstarstar

You do like Terry Pratchett, don't you? I do too, and I got a huge kick out your story. I loved the million-to-one-chance and the sergeant major charm. Very funny. Just what I needed on a break from a research paper. Thanks!

Author's Response: Yup, definitely a Pratchett fan. I'm an irregular on Alt.Fan.Pratchett under the same nick. I was hoping someone would spot the million-to-one chance, thanks!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: joviality Signed Date: 2005.11.01 - 12:33PM Title: Combat Catalyst

starstarstarstar

A really enjoyable read =)



Reviewer: Astrid_rose Signed Date: 2005.10.30 - 06:11PM Title: Combat Catalyst

starstarstarstarstar

This is definitely my favorite so far of these entries. Excellent balance of humor and action. I also like the emotion involved with Harry cursing that Death Eater and Dumbledore understanding and helping. The cupids attacking the Death Eater, the line about stakes, Neville's sergeantness- all fun bits that lightened the otherwise tense mood. Good work!

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: jacmompat Anonymous Date: 2005.10.23 - 06:43PM Title: Combat Catalyst

starstarstarstarstar

Read for judging.

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Courtney Anonymous Date: 2005.10.21 - 11:03PM Title: Combat Catalyst

starstarstarstar

that was good. but if that was a movie it would have i higher rating i think. if you picture it in your head its pretty graphic. the quills pinning the death eater, the explosion, ginny and the vampire.... cool though

Author's Response: Yeah, that's why I originally rated it R; I was rating the film in my head. Then I got emails saying I'd rated it too high, so I read through it again and realised that very little of the gore was actually explicitly described. So down a notch it came. Anyway, thanks!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Soder Anonymous Date: 2005.10.20 - 08:10PM Title: Combat Catalyst

starstarstarstarstar

BRILIANT!!! the whole thing was movie like. i actually imagened it like a battlefield of WW2 or somethin'. Neviile was very funny indeed. Great story!

Author's Response: Thanks - that's what I was aiming for. I tend to think cinematically, and I planned the entire battle out on a map of Hogsmeade. Then I built a 3D model of it on my computer and rendered as an animation so I could get all the eye-lines and things correct. Okay, so that was mainly because I had nothing better to do. ;-)

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: KikiDeeDee Anonymous Date: 2005.10.20 - 03:31PM Title: Combat Catalyst

starstarstarstarstar

Oh how charming. What an excellent little entry into the challenge. All the necessary elements for a stunner. Loved the Serg charm on Neville what a superb little idea. Good Luck Kiki

Author's Response: Thanks! The Sergeant-Major charm pretty much invented itself - Neville doesn't strike me as the kind to leap from background to leader in a matter of seconds, so I needed an amusing way of turning him around.

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Zentross Anonymous Date: 2005.10.17 - 10:23PM Title: Combat Catalyst

starstarstarstarstar

Great story, this was the best out of five I've read in the challenge so far. I enjoyed the character interactions and the detail. Good Job

Author's Response: Thanks!

[Respond: In Review]



../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear