Search:

SIYE Time:13:52 on 16th June 2021

Reviews For Super Ginny

Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2011.08.30 - 01:21PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

This was very good! You combined the two storylines so well without a blink in the plot flow. I've always enjoyed the challenge of writing Quidditch, and this was especially well-done. A great story. Thanks. --Eric B.

Author's Response: Thanks very much for the review, and congrats on your win!



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2011.08.18 - 10:34PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstar

Nice and the song definitely matches. It would have been nice to see a bit of them post match as well.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Yeah, I always link this song with Ginny's Quidditch career. I did consider an epilogue, but I thought this was a nice place to end things... perhaps after the judging is done.



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2011.08.18 - 12:42PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarhalf-star

I have mixed feelings about this story, mostly because I think you need to do some research on Quidditch. In the first section you mention four Chasers--there are only three--and even though you have the colors of the Harpies' uniform correct I don't think you mentioned the talon on the chest. Finally, the Harpies players' first names all begin with "G": you have a player named Emily and one named Vilmai, which definitely do not begin with "G". Finally, JKR always uses "match" instead of "game" to describe the actual meeting of the two teams.

That aside, I think you did a decent job of conforming your story to the structure of the song. I wasn't too happy with all the yelling and swearing in the locker room scene; it made the players seem crude and I would think that such an elite group of women would be above that sort of thing. Certainly there would be "discussions" but if the team values its reputation, the front office would need to censure the players' language. You would never know if another Rita Skeeter buzzed in until the damages were done in the next day's Daily Prophet. When the story reached Harry's first section, the pace picked up and the story became more interesting. I can see how he found his being "married to his job" would be frustrating to him, especially if he thought he'd be missing Ginny's match for a third or fourth time in a row. I did cheer when he figured out how the criminal was getting away with slipping through the Aurors' fingers and he was able to make Ginny's match.

Finally, you did a nice job of incorporating the song into the story with Hermione listening to it during the match.

Author's Response: Firstly and most importantly: I'm sorry the language offended you. I consciously used it as to shock the reader and introduce some of the privations of Ginny's job; getting violently chewed out by the boss, at times unfairly. I believe this kind of post-defeat locker room scene is quite common in sports; professional athletes tend not to like losing (part of the drive that makes them strive to be the best in the world at what they do). It did perhaps make the Harpies seem crude (the captain in particular), but I hoped to make up for it by Gwenog's reaction to Ginny's Bludger interception. However, my judgement to include the swearing uncensored in its entirety in the fic might have been off. Sorry about that.

For the rest: I checked HPWiki and it gave me the name of the player, Vilmai Morgan, and the factoid that all other players' first or last names start with G (something I did provide for). I didn't think the golden talon logo visible enough from afar to include in my descriptions of the match. I don't think I made the mistake of having 3 Chasers on the team; if I did it's an unconscious error. The usage of 'game' instead of 'match' is a quite unforgivable Americanism, oops =D

Thanks for the comments, particularly the one regarding pacing as I honestly don't know if I have such writing techniques down right. I thought I should have added in an extra Ginny-section but I didn't have the time. Please feel free to PM me if you wish to continue the discussion. Cheerio!

Author's Response: P.S.: Sorry, bit hasty of me. I meant I don't think I wrote 4 Chasers into the team. I'm well aware that there are only 3 Chasers =D



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2011.08.17 - 04:34PM Title: Chapter 1

It's amazing what one needs to get it back in gear and make a difference...now jones is not going to see Ginny for a few days as Ginny is a little busy at the moment....kutgw


Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Heh, perhaps... then again, duty calls for both our heroes.



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2011.08.17 - 11:39AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Very enjoyable. I really felt for Ginny at the begining of this story.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I'm glad that bit worked for you, I wasn't sure I was pouring it on too thick or not enough.



Reviewer: Bethina Signed Date: 2011.08.17 - 03:49AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: kingbobrules Signed Date: 2011.08.16 - 03:03PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstar

A readable little ficlet, and kudos on incorporating a more unusual Abba song. Good use of detail especially.

Author's Response: Thanks! I try to focus more on plot than detail, or I'd get caught up churning masses of needless description around a boring storyline. 'Super Trouper' is one of my favourites, and it's the song I link most with Ginny's Quidditch career.



Reviewer: Emlyn Signed Date: 2011.08.16 - 01:21PM Title: Chapter 1

Very nicely done. You could really feel the tension.

Author's Response: Thank you! I tried my best to get the emotions across, though of course it's not perfect.



Reviewer: seeker68 Signed Date: 2011.08.16 - 12:04PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Well done. Loved the story. You really got the feeling of being overwhelmed by the job across. I could feel Harry's and Ginny's despair as they struggled with their respective jobs. THe postman disguise was awesome too. Again, well done.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Yeah, I tried to my best to convey their experiences and emotions across. The idea is after all this nonsense in your life, after all this time apart, when you meet up with the one you love you just feel really... super =)




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear