Search:

SIYE Time:9:06 on 27th July 2021

Reviews For How It Is Up There

Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2010.07.13 - 06:50AM Title: How It Is Up There

starstarstarstar

This was an interesting story. I liked the way you characterized James and Lily’s relationship. I would have loved to hear a few more of their conversations. “Harry go brother”—now there’s a new phrase for us. You gave us a nice read. Thanks—Eric B.



Reviewer: deedeevee Signed Date: 2010.07.12 - 10:03PM Title: How It Is Up There

This was a sweet story. I liked the way you wove through the dream- some things making sense & others not.



Reviewer: Yunchao Signed Date: 2010.07.12 - 03:51AM Title: How It Is Up There

Good job! I liked the whole prelude to the actual dream where apparently, Harry couldn't keep his eyes off of Ginny for other reasons besides Dean! I also liked the balance you struck in writing the dream part between not making sense like a real dream yet still being logical enough for a reader to follow. I've just read this story for review. Thanks for writing!



Reviewer: Lord Dreadnault Signed Date: 2010.07.08 - 08:51PM Title: How It Is Up There

starstarstarstarstar

(Judged for challenge). You seem to have a good handle on human character, a valuable skill in writing. I liked your approach to how Ginny's dream worked. Good luck.



Reviewer: sanidad Signed Date: 2010.07.02 - 11:42PM Title: How It Is Up There

Neat story. Your dream sequence was well-executed, to the point that I don't think you needed to ask people to keep an open mind in your author's note. Good luck with the challenge!



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2010.07.02 - 12:28AM Title: How It Is Up There

starstarstarstarhalf-star

This was an interesting story to read, and one that is quite unusual. I say this because of how disjointed the main body of it is and how much you require your readers to think. That's a good thing, by the way, because it means that at least this reader will remember your story. I'm glad you ended your story when you did, too, because this is one of the high points of the series, the one thing Harry will take with him into the dark days of the Horcrux hunt.



Reviewer: babewithbrains Signed Date: 2010.06.19 - 08:17AM Title: How It Is Up There

Great story. Possibly one of the best stories entered for the challenge. Well done!

~Soraya~



Reviewer: hushpuppy22 Signed Date: 2010.06.15 - 11:39PM Title: How It Is Up There

starstarhalf-star

Lily's name was misspelled 'Lilly' throughout the piece. You may want to have a beta look it over for other spelling and grammar issues.



Reviewer: Trucker Signed Date: 2010.06.15 - 08:14PM Title: How It Is Up There

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I liked it, but you need to rework a sentence:

She sighed again and stood up, sitting going to beside Hermione...

I lost track of your meaning during that one.



Reviewer: GoDons Signed Date: 2010.06.15 - 06:53PM Title: How It Is Up There

starstarstarstarstar


Best of luck with your entry.



Reviewer: Ginny Guerra Signed Date: 2010.06.15 - 06:50PM Title: How It Is Up There

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Dreams are such acomplicated thing...



Reviewer: Enchantedgurls Signed Date: 2010.06.15 - 05:57PM Title: How It Is Up There

starstarstarstarhalf-star

If creativity was one of the winning categories- you would get it. Great job on capturing the essence of a typical dream. It's especially eerie that Lily really 'was' present in the dream. It goes to show that a lot of nonsense dreams we have in real life may not be nonsense after all (although it's true that they do appear in riddles). I thought it especially interesting that Ginny acted like she knew Lily in the beginning of the dream. In any case, I can see this happening in canon, and I really liked this. Definitely thought-provoking! :)



Reviewer: DukeBrymin Signed Date: 2010.06.15 - 12:11PM Title: How It Is Up There

starstarstarstarhalf-star

So, I really liked this--I like how the dream sequence made sense to Ginny, even though ludicrous things were happening.

What I don't understand, though, is how the last paragraph can be--if the afterlife is nothing, with people only appearing when they need to, how did James, Lily, and Sirius get together to celebrate?

Author's Response: well, it's nothing in a different way. It's nothing yet it can be something,. What Lily refers to when she says is nothing is that...there's no certain time or space. Things just happen. They don't think, I'm going to go talk with James or Sirius...they just do things, or think things without rationalizing.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear