Search:

SIYE Time:13:38 on 16th June 2021

Reviews For Girl Talk

Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2010.09.01 - 06:37PM Title: Chapter 5: Beginnings

starstarstarstarstar

It was great to have the description of the fight going on at Hogwarts before and during Dubledore's battle on the astronomy tower. Great story.

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for your reviews! Yeah, I particularly liked the fireplace chat, Quidditch game and the battle too. It was fun to write (and later reread) those parts.



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2010.08.31 - 09:09PM Title: Chapter 4: Kiss

starstarstarstarstar

Really enjoyed all the quiditch. Thanks for all the excerpts...I could read that line about Ron's expression on seeing his siser and best mate kiss over and over again.



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2010.08.31 - 08:18PM Title: Chapter 3: Christmas

starstarstarstarstar

me thinks Lily will have to visit hermione's dreams a few times to make her believe!



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2010.08.30 - 06:38PM Title: Chapter 2: Lily

starstarstarstarstar

Loved the last line!!

I think ginny is going to have to find someway to not be so exhausted in the morning after these "dreams" as she will end up with even more homework if she cant perform in class.



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2010.08.30 - 06:13PM Title: Chapter 1: Sometimes

starstarstarstarstar

What a dramatic conversation between them...had me on the edge of my seat:-)



Reviewer: sookielala17 Signed Date: 2010.07.16 - 11:06PM Title: Chapter 5: Beginnings

starstarstarstar

i have enjoyed this story immensly, is there any more about how she delt with that time in the castle and how things happened
????? please if there is anymore story linked to this one please let me know as i would love to read it
thanks


Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'm flattered you asked for more, but no. This is about all that I'm writing about Ginny/Lily interaction, because it's rather difficult to write convincingly outside of a Challenge.



Reviewer: Yunchao Signed Date: 2010.07.15 - 02:13AM Title: Chapter 5: Beginnings

Good job! I'm honestly speechless... which I think is the highest praise I can give. I simply loved all of it and it fit so well with the books that I think they fill out the "holes" in the canon just right! I've just read this story for judging. Thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, I'm glad you enjoyed it! Having Lily appear to Ginny in her dreams is one explanation for her sudden maturity, but it's believability is limited to fanfiction, and canonwise it's left pretty much unsaid... something I wish JKR could have expounded on further. Ah well, that's what fanfiction is for =)



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2010.07.10 - 07:39AM Title: Chapter 5: Beginnings

I totally loved this story. You will do really well with the challenge if this story is any indication.
Best of luck and I look forward to reading any other furure story you write.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Yes, I'm hoping to win at least one of the challenge categories, but honestly, I wouldn't mind if I didn't because I really enjoyed writing the story. Due to various factors I haven't written anything SIYE-publishable for a year, but I intend to fix that soon! I look forward to showing you some of the stuff I've got percolating in my head!



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2010.07.10 - 07:39AM Title: Chapter 5: Beginnings

starstarstarstarstar

I totally loved this story. You will do really well with the challenge if this story is any indication.
Best of luck and I look forward to reading any other furure story you write.



Reviewer: bengpotter31 Signed Date: 2010.07.09 - 10:39AM Title: Chapter 5: Beginnings

starstarstarstarstar

Great story. Interesting place to end it. I'd have preferred another epilogue with Ginny telling Harry about meeting his mother. Gppd job.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Yeah, I wanted to insert that in somewhere, because I think it'd be really touching to see Harry's reaction, but after writing part of the scene and looking at the epilogue, I realised that it went beyond the scope of the tale. JKR made that mistake; she wanted very much to show what happened to the gang afterwards, and she wrote the epilogue... which many readers agree seems rushed, crammed with trivia and clashed wildly with the tone of the rest of DH. I had a look at the scene, and I realised that an epilogue where Ginny tells Harry about Lily would have that same effect. That's one of the biggest reasons why I didn't put it in.



Reviewer: Lord Dreadnault Signed Date: 2010.07.07 - 09:45PM Title: Chapter 5: Beginnings

starstarstarstarstar

(Judged for challenge) You certainly don't do anything less than a full effort. Congratulations on a story well done and good luck.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! Yes, this was indeed a full effort, 10000-word guiding limit be damned, and I hoped that you read all 30000++ words of it and enjoyed yourself all the way. Thanks again.



Reviewer: maisa potter Signed Date: 2010.07.02 - 12:07PM Title: Chapter 5: Beginnings

starstarstarstarstar

I totally loved it!!!!!! I think it is amazing how you transform Ginny into a fighter and how Lily becomes more than a teacher to her..... Hope you write a sequel and explain everything that happened at Hogwarts during that terrible year, following this cannon, of course.....

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Ahh, Ginny has always been a fighter, as we can see from the end of Order of the Phoenix. But by the end of Deathly Hallows, she had become a leader in the Hogwarts 'resistance'. To me, that seems to imply that our young heroine has grown and matured since. Actually, I have unused material and ideas that are lying around, but then I have 2 other HP projects in the pipeline, one of them also Ginny-centric, so I might hold off on a sequel for quite a while.



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2010.07.01 - 08:47PM Title: Chapter 5: Beginnings

well i think thst its nice to see how lily help ginny but i think ginny could have just as well kick her own self in to do the dead...kutgw

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! That's a good question. See, the books are written from Harry's POV, and both HBP and DH portray Ginny as a bold personality who is popular, hexes well and is 'not very weepy', to paraphrase a quote. The idea behind my fic is that Ginny, while being full of potential herself, is not quite as superlative as Harry thinks. That's where Lily comes in; to take all that potential and mould and shape her into that bold girl Harry sees who hexes well, is not very weepy (in public anyway) and who eventually becomes quite a charismatic leader of the DA herself, as seen in DH. In short, somewhere between OotP and DH, Ginny grew up, and it was Lily who helped her along.



Reviewer: babewithbrains Signed Date: 2010.07.01 - 06:09PM Title: Chapter 5: Beginnings

starstarstarstarstar

Great ending to a brilliant story. Definitely getting my vote for People's Choice Award thingy!
Keep up the good work.
~Soraya~

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, and the vote! I'm not sure, but I rather think the categories this time round are rather limited... I guess I'll only be hoping for Best Overall and Best People's Choice... not sure it's really that great an adventure... and 'new skills', well... Still, we'll see when the decision is out. I enjoyed myself writing it =)



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2010.07.01 - 04:12PM Title: Chapter 5: Beginnings

starstarstarstarhalf-star

This was a good story and more expansive than some of the other "Girl Talk" challenges. But I thought the battle scene at the astronomy tower was brilliant. Well done.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed reading it. I certainly enjoyed myself writing it! I did take some care writing the battle scene so as to fit into the gaps in the narrative left by JK (who in my opinion can't write battles worth a damn).



Reviewer: Miz636 Signed Date: 2010.07.01 - 12:42AM Title: Chapter 5: Beginnings

starstarstarstarstar

This 5-part story was amazing. I've been following it since chapter 2 I think, but I really don't like reviewing on SIYE. I'm doing it because this is an amazing story that earns a review. You've done an amazing job with this story. I like your reasoning behind the story, and it really works; I can see this all being the reason Ginny became one of the leaders. It's amazing.

Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, which I appreciate all the more because after DH came out I didn't leave reviews myself but for stories which really deserved one. Hope you enjoyed the ride, and thank you again!



Reviewer: GoDons Signed Date: 2010.06.30 - 11:30PM Title: Chapter 5: Beginnings

starstarstarstarstar

Lovely chapter. Please do a sequel. Would love to read, amongst other important happenings, Harry and Ginny's reunion post the DH final battle.

Good luck with your entry. I hope you do really well.

Cheers,
GoDons

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I've actually written a reunion story, but the plot's rather pointless at the moment. I considered posting an epilogue that featured the reunion after the battle, but that would have exceeded the scope of the fic I had in mind, having structured it to depict the end of the beginning of Ginny's part in the war, like a comic Origins story of sorts (but better).



Reviewer: DukeBrymin Signed Date: 2010.06.30 - 02:26PM Title: Chapter 4: Kiss

starstarstarstarstar

Phenomenal. Absolutely brilliant.

I really liked your description of the Quidditch game, and Ginny stepping in to lead them.

And the kiss--incredibly perfect.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I especially hope you enjoyed the Quidditch game, because I'm planning a Quidditch-centric fic after this. Cheers!



Reviewer: fir0002 Signed Date: 2010.06.29 - 10:59PM Title: Chapter 4: Kiss

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Good chapter. Really liked the quidditch match. Weren't they playing Ravenclaw though?

Author's Response: Thanks mate! Dammit, I keep making errors like this now that I don't have a beta any more. Ah well, easily rectified =/



Reviewer: GoDons Signed Date: 2010.06.29 - 09:17PM Title: Chapter 4: Kiss

starstarstarstarstar

Brilliant. One of the highlights here was Ginny crashing into the commentator's podium - again! Served Smith right, the idiot. Should have thought first before opening his trap.

Can't wait for the next chapter.

Cheers,
GoDons

PS. Ginny's pov of the kiss was great, too. However you look at it, the kiss meant as much to Ginny as it did to Harry.

Well done.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! The next chapter is on the way!




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear