Search:

SIYE Time:8:57 on 27th July 2021

Reviews For Wings!

Reviewer: pleurocoelus Signed Date: 2014.08.29 - 06:00PM Title: Wings!

Nicely done. Loved the Highway to Heaven refernces, and of course, the NCIS.

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it. It's always fun slipping in a few cultural reference tips-of-the -hat. Thanks for reading--Eric B.



Reviewer: Yunchao Signed Date: 2010.07.12 - 03:53AM Title: Wings!

Good job! As always, the thing that I admire most about your stories is the creativity involved in some parts of the plot. I've just read this story for judging. Thanks for writing!

Author's Response: I always try to respond to reviews as quickly as possible. I apologize for missing this. A pox upon me for not seeing it sooner!! Thank you very much for reading--Eric B.



Reviewer: Lord Dreadnault Signed Date: 2010.07.08 - 09:08PM Title: Wings!

starstarstarstarstar

(Judged for the challenge) I can't remember if I've told you this before, but truly, you're a talented author. :) Good luck.

Author's Response: Thank you very much--Eric



Reviewer: st122 Signed Date: 2010.06.13 - 03:45AM Title: Wings!

starstarstarstarhalf-star

That was rather interesting and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Thank you for taking the time to read. Eric B.



Reviewer: freshwater Signed Date: 2010.06.12 - 12:10AM Title: Wings!

starstarstarstar

As always, love seeing a new story from you! Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. It was a lot of fun to put together. Eric B.



Reviewer: M_And Signed Date: 2010.06.10 - 12:23AM Title: Wings!

starstarstarstarstar

Well Eric, once again you've amazed me with your ability to write the story within the story. For me, aside from reading a fun story like this, that has a couple of meaningful commentaries laced in as well, is the giddiness I feel at trying to find all the hidden references. I suspect I've missed a few this time, but here goes nothing.

Dr. Kildare and Ben Casey eh? All you needed was Dr. Joe Gannon and Marcus Welby and you'd have a complete medical staff. A reference to Metatron? There's so many levels to that, aside from Alan Rickman playing the role in Dogma. The dual role of Metatron as scribe (or potions master) and protector. The possible connection to arcane magic. I'm impressed by this one. Brazilian saber tooth bumble bunnies? (that's a mouthful) Are they per chance related to the La Brea Tar Pit Bugs Bunnies? Game show hosts aren't real? Why'd you have to go there? Next you'll say that Crumple-Horned Snorlacks don't exist. I heard that Joan of Arc now wears fire-retardant footed-jammies under her armor. Don't suppose Matilda the maid knew how to waltz? Those darn Burundians are branching out all over the place. Burundian Kowtowing Ale? Made with fermented coffee beans instead of hops no doubt. You know, I've heard that if you drink enough of that stuff, you develop an incurable urge to go cow-tipping. Finally, Spencer Tracey didn't spell his name wrong, I did. I'm his publicist, and as you well know, I can't spell Spencer...er...I mean Spenser. Oops! I did it again!

Hopefully this review has entertained you has much as your story entertained me. You put a lot effort into writing the story, so it's only fair that I put a little effort into the review (I know, a very little effort indeed). Another excellent story Eric. I wish you the best in the Challenge! - Mike

Author's Response: Doctors Early and Gannon were considered (Robert Fuller and Bobby Troup from the program "Emergency"). Yes Virginia, except for Drew Carey, game show hosts are all undead zombies.

Yes, this was a fun story to write; puns and all. I have utilized angels quite a bit over the years--everything from "It's a Wonderful...Potter." to "Cosmic Cow-Tipping". I referenced maybe a half-dozen other films with angels as well. They are a great device, and they are a great opportunity for story twists. I...haven't decided after my last Challenge story whether to recruit someone else. Thank you for reading--Eric.



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2010.06.09 - 11:18AM Title: Wings!

starstarstarstar

Interesting, but slightly strange (or that could be a lot). Very different.

Author's Response: Ah...strange. Yes...I guess that is an accurate commentary--but such can be said for this Challenge as a whole. I know that I would be a little unsettled if my dead mother-in-law (mine passed away while I was deployed to Bosnia) appeared in my dreams one night. She was an excellent cook however. Extreme situations not only challenge a writer, but also provide the reader with different, and sometimes unique, opportunities. I know as well that my friend has actually been inspired to create a new cold, refreshing beverage based upon the story. Thank you for reading--Eric B,




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear