Search:

SIYE Time:1:06 on 18th September 2021

Reviews For Festively Besieged

Reviewer: beryl Signed Date: 2011.06.06 - 08:29AM Title: Festively Besieged

What fun! Seriously, I'm disappointed that serious did not descend in a golden shaft of light.



Reviewer: beryl Signed Date: 2011.06.06 - 08:29AM Title: Festively Besieged

What fun! Seriously, I'm disappointed that serious did not descend in a golden shaft of light.



Reviewer: stark40763 Signed Date: 2009.02.15 - 11:27PM Title: Festively Besieged

I doubt Bruce Willis could have done it better! Great Job!



Reviewer: RealmofShadows Signed Date: 2009.01.23 - 08:26PM Title: Festively Besieged

starstarstarstarhalf-star

A nice story! I have enjoyed reading it!



Reviewer: Artistand Signed Date: 2009.01.17 - 12:10AM Title: Festively Besieged

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Wow! This was terrific. Unfortunately, however, I can't recommend it to my son, who introduced me to fan fiction.



Reviewer: Jim McGuffin Signed Date: 2009.01.14 - 08:09PM Title: Festively Besieged

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Judged for competition.

Ah, a joint challenge effort by Torak and Fett dFacto. I recall reading some of Fett dFacto's challenge entries earlier, and I am definitely familiar with Torak's previous entries.

So of course, I already know about Torak's fun with finding loopholes in the challenge parameters, as he's done in previous challenges. Obviously, the staff intended this challenge to take place during the year of PoA, since each of the seven challenges in the Retro series was intended to take place during the respective year of canon. But, of course, what makes Torak's challenges so entertaining to read is that he always thinks outside the box.

Having this fic take place a decade later than expected means that Harry and Ginny are older, so the fic can be a little more risque. In particular, it's hilarious how, in the bonus line about doing "blank" twice a day, you actually kept the "blank" -- with that strategically placed Sneakoscope ring. LOL~

Interestingly enough, your fic is the only entry to actually kill off Wormtail. Of course, that's because the other entries take place during the PoA year, and it would mess up GoF if Wormtail were dead.

Overall, great fic as always! I wish you two luck in the challenge!

Author's Response: Loopholes? Me? Surely not! (Well, OK, maybe a few...) Anyway, many thanks, and glad you enjoyed it!



Reviewer: sanidad Signed Date: 2009.01.12 - 11:40PM Title: Festively Besieged

Very entertaining. A few too many Muggle-oriented elements for my taste, but an enjoyable read nonetheless.

Author's Response: Yeah. The magical stuff tends to annoy me after a while... ;-)



Reviewer: DukeBrymin Signed Date: 2009.01.09 - 01:42PM Title: Festively Besieged

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Absolutely brilliant!
Well-done, humorous, and perfectly engaging.
Thanks!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it - thanks!



Reviewer: pippan121 Signed Date: 2009.01.04 - 07:55PM Title: Festively Besieged

I liked how you included Sirius. The battle was a little confusing.

Author's Response: Battles often are. ;-)



Reviewer: eaminoh Signed Date: 2009.01.02 - 10:07AM Title: Festively Besieged

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Katastrophe Signed Date: 2009.01.02 - 05:10AM Title: Festively Besieged

Judging for Challenge.

Best of luck in the competition,

Michelle



Reviewer: Valandar Signed Date: 2009.01.02 - 04:48AM Title: Festively Besieged

First... somehow, you overrode the default font settings, making this difficult to read... and not very appreciated.

Second:
..
2. Ginny making friends with a smart but shy, large, black dog on Hogwarts grounds.
..
5. Ginny talks to Sirius before Harry knows.
..

#'s 2 and 5... sorry. This pretty much means it has to be in her second year, Harry's third. I don't believe this qualifies for the challenge. If it does, more power to you!

Author's Response: No, there\'s nothing in the fic code to cause the font problem. I\'m not sure what\'s causing it either, but I agree that it\'s immensely irritating.
As for the rules, though, read what they actually say rather than what you think they say. Ginny does meet a large black dog, right at the start of the story. It\'s not Sirius, but the rules don\'t say that it has to be. And later on, just before the ceremony, Ginny does indeed talk to Sirius before Harry knows he\'s there.
As I say - all the rules are satisfied. :-)



Reviewer: NotACat Signed Date: 2009.01.02 - 03:53AM Title: Festively Besieged

starstarstarstarstar

Awesomely insane. I'm still wondering how you got parts of it past the gate, but frankly who cares? Woohoo, what a ride!

Author's Response: I like the gate. I particularly like the sound it makes as it zips past....



Reviewer: Ginny Guerra Signed Date: 2009.01.01 - 06:35PM Title: Festively Besieged

Sorry, the format makes it very uncomfortable to read. Can't adjust the font size.

Author's Response: Yeah, I\'m finding the same problem. It\'s nothing wrong with the fic\'s code, but I\'m finding locked sizes on other fics as well. I\'m passing on the question to the tech bods; as you say, it makes reading rather awkward.



Reviewer: harrypotterspirit Signed Date: 2009.01.01 - 05:08PM Title: Festively Besieged

starstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2009.01.01 - 04:13PM Title: Festively Besieged

starstarstarstarhalf-star

There are two things about all your stories that immediately come to mind—how unique your characterizations are and how well the plots are always paced. I agree that retaining the two Marauders was an essential element in this story, especially when it provided us with that inevitable ending between them. In rereading JKR’s two-page short story (the one that she did for charity last year), I was struck with how Sirius interacted with James and the similarity to the former and Harry. Your approach shows a maturity in him that greatly contributed to the theme I saw; time has passed and so has the torch. History is also repeating itself, but we’re not dealing with the same people as years earlier or from canon. Actually, Draco and Wormtail are the same people in many ways, which was their greatest weakness. My soft heart hopes Malfoy somehow comes to his senses one day, but if he does (as in the Deathly Hallows epilogue) it all seems anticlimactic. I love it when a good adventure builds up to a resolution, and that in turn surprises you. A good original story, with fewer restrictions based on generic expectations, is much nicer than a pencil-whipped, just-fill-in-the-blanks tale. Thanks for a great read. Eric

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: ginny_lola Signed Date: 2009.01.01 - 12:48PM Title: Festively Besieged

starstarstarstar

No Review




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear