Search:

SIYE Time:9:39 on 18th October 2021

Reviews For Hollywood Or What?

Reviewer: sapphire200182 Signed Date: 2007.08.01 - 02:30AM Title: Episode One: A New Trope

starstarstarstarstar

Hardy har har. Centennial Goshawk, Crewman Wilhelm's scream...you did your research didn't you? Either that or you're a major Star Wars fan to actually know what a Wilhelm's scream is.

Author's Response: I may have spent a few too many years playing Star Wars RPG, yes... ;-)



Reviewer: Professor Scroll Signed Date: 2007.07.25 - 03:12PM Title: Interlude: Back To Reality?

starstarstarstarstar

You scare me sometimes, Andrew! Hope Harry catches up with them quickly.



Reviewer: Sovran Signed Date: 2007.07.24 - 10:14PM Title: Interlude: Back To Reality?

starstarstarstarstar

I can see how this would be very hard to write without a working knowledge of the movies... err, films. Still, I think you got the point across well enough, at least for the observant types.

Author's Response: Cheers - it's tricky, since the films don't really have any major substantive changes, just abstract plot changes and things. They haven't changed anything that can be easily shown, so I didn't have much to go on for this chapter....



Reviewer: running_swift Signed Date: 2007.07.19 - 09:58PM Title: Chapter II: Noe Ye Olde Wimple-eth Fore Me-eth

starstarstarstarstar

Almost had me giggling more than the quotes from the film. Almost. :P

Loved the conversation between Harry and Robin, that really had me laughing. And well done on writing Australian; I hope I never have to try it like you have.

"Thugger the beam" I loved more than "He deered to kill a king's dare." :D Hehe although you could have given the sheriff a title that wasn't 'of Nottingham'. Not that you said the title. Speaking of the sheriff, yaaay!! Alan Rickman rocks :D Snape doesn't, but hey, since when has one imagined Snape to say "Boogie"? :P

Great, as always. Keep it coming, your writing style doesn't cease to amaze. :)

Lisa

PS I dare you to try a DFMB one day. XD

Author's Response: A DFMB.... I remember the acronym, I suspect I may have made it up myself in conversation with you... I just can't remember what it means now...



Reviewer: irollam Signed Date: 2007.07.18 - 07:04PM Title: Prologue: Ars Gratia Artis

starstarstarstarstar

what if the turned up in a Harry Potter film? That would be fun....

Author's Response: I suspect you may find your curiosity quelled once you read the interlude between chapters two and three... It's been written for a while now. :-)



Reviewer: Elizzza Signed Date: 2007.07.18 - 06:41PM Title: Chapter II: Noe Ye Olde Wimple-eth Fore Me-eth

starstarstarstarstar

Very enjoyable - but you never make it easy for the reader, do you? I, at least, have to read your stories a couple of times before I think I have found the majority (never 'ALL') of the references. Oh well, I have always liked a challenge. (By the way, why is there an Australian in Nottingham? - - - or am I dimmer than I thought?)

Author's Response: Hehe - my favourite beta (mater dearest) has said much the same, and my reply will also be much the same: I just assume that my readers are intelligent. And since a lot of the jokes are a notch or two beyond the obvious, I fully expect them to need to re-read bits here and there to get the jokes, much like you did. So it's very gratifying to hear from readers who have taken the time to go through it in that much detail - thanks!



Oh, and the Australian Robin... It's a dig at Mel Gibson (who seems to have an ongoing grudge match against British history), Kevin Costner (who "isn't English") and Errol Flynn who, I'm told, was born in Tasmania. So now you know.



Anyway, I'm going to do a Kschneyer and post a chapter of A/N once the whole things finished, thus fully annotating the story.



Reviewer: Sovran Signed Date: 2007.07.18 - 01:14PM Title: Chapter II: Noe Ye Olde Wimple-eth Fore Me-eth

starstarstarstarstar

I enjoyed the entire chapter, including a certain garment's ancestry, but my favorite bit by far was Reducto Praejudi Extremis. That was quite easily the funniest thing I've read today, and I suspect that it will retain that title for a while. I might even have to steal it someday. =)

Author's Response: Go right ahead, I'd consider it a privilege.



Reviewer: MrPowell Signed Date: 2007.07.17 - 11:01PM Title: Chapter II: Noe Ye Olde Wimple-eth Fore Me-eth

starstarstarhalf-star

make the chapters as long as you will, i say.

Author's Response: Jolly good then - I will!



Reviewer: ravenclaw_girl101 Signed Date: 2007.07.09 - 02:21PM Title: Episode One: A New Trope

starstarstarstarstar

*tears of laughter coming out* oh my god...this was very funny...if i'm not mistaken, this is kinda like Star Wars...instead of Jar-Jar, it's Dob-Dob...oh my god that is hilarious...keep up the excellent work.

Author's Response: Yup, it's Star Wars through and through. The key is to write the setting straight; the comedy's only the incomers, while the Star Wars universe is trying to be business as usual...



Reviewer: running_swift Signed Date: 2007.07.08 - 01:30PM Title: Episode One: A New Trope

starstarstarstarstar

Well, that was a great laugh, especially at this time of night. :D

"Even the italics that normally imbued the incantation with its power failed to appear." ~ definitely my favourite line. (You must continue to bear in mind that I've never *watched* Star Wars. Two and Three, anyway.)

What else to say, what else to say...? Other than a detailed account of your fantasticness, I've nothing else to say.

And you're welcome, by the way (she says through gritted teeth), for the Dobby/JJ idea. ::glares::

So carry on, chapter 3 looks promising :D

Lisa (who doesn't need a photo of a pound since she has... quite a lot... XD)

Author's Response: Hehe - you said "You've got to have Dobby as Jar-Jar". So I did. So there. :-p



Reviewer: knightsbridge Signed Date: 2007.07.08 - 03:49AM Title: Episode One: A New Trope

starstarstarstarstar

Lol, I have a pound note, thank you very much...but this is so much fun!
What? No Cantina scene? Okay, I'' not much on old cinema, but the Potal has to be SG--1 and all the rest of the numbers...but the never jumped to that Gallaxy far, far away. I really want to see Ginny with Do-nuts glued to her ears as the Princess. Can't figure out if Harry is Han Solo or Luke yet...lol, Dudley has to come in here as Java (sp?) the Hutt...ummm...maybe Snape "luke, I'm your Father?" Nah...too much of a stretch.

I'm not too good at puzzles, as you can tell, and it helps if you're into Si-Fi movies.

Thanks for the lark, and I'm looking forward to being confused even more!

Darian

Author's Response: Nope, no cantina, I'm afraid; for the story, it worked better to just do the Death Star segment. The portal actually isn't based on the Stargate, though - it's more of a flat, spinning vortex rather than the rippling surface of the SG.
Ginny has the dress and all, and readers are welcome to imagine her with The Hair, but I didn't want to be too obvious. :-p
Harry's both, an amalgam of Luke and Han. He's got Han's chase scene, Luke's "I'm here to rescue you", and so on. And Jabba The Hutt never set foot on the Death Star, I'm afraid. Then again, neither did Jar-Jar... Anyway, there'll be a crib sheet coming at the end of it all, which should provide amusement...



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2007.07.07 - 12:52AM Title: Prologue: Ars Gratia Artis

starstarstarstarstar

Ars Gratia Artis--Art for Art's sake. The question is who is this guy Art, and why does he deserve all of our attention. Seriously...welcome back. I love cliffhangers such as this. You've provided a hint, but no more than the finest clue. I'm looking forward to the next. Thanks! Eric

Author's Response: There are two clues, in fact - "Sellulosa" is the other. And Ars Gratia Artis, of course, is MGM's logo, but you knew that. ;-)



Reviewer: running_swift Signed Date: 2007.07.06 - 11:06PM Title: Prologue: Ars Gratia Artis

starstarstarstarstar

I love how the shout Gin made was exactly the same as the one Harry heard XD But that's a pretty weird thing to be liking; you know me.

Voldy seems to know how to laugh. Or, at least, to make people giggle. Okay, *you* know how to make people giggle, and it's amusing that you chose Voldemort to show that part of you :P

Particularly like the interaction between Harry and Gin, really made me smile. You've written a perfect Ginny, for me. She's persistent (when it comes to Harry) and will never give up, and your Ginny is as close to canon Ginny as one could get.

"She yanked the shower curtain aside — and was met by a blue-robed figure with a pinched face and bulbous eyes. And a big grin." ~ adore the end of this line! Very you thing to do, as well :)

Fantastic start, as always. Now let's see how the rest of it turns out :D

Lisa

(Oh, and yay for ice cream!!)



Author's Response: As you'll find out in chapter four, I based my description of Clough on Peter Lorre - and if the name doesn't ring any bells, IMDB is your friend. ;-)



Reviewer: knightsbridge Signed Date: 2007.07.06 - 10:49PM Title: Prologue: Ars Gratia Artis

I think the best line was in your A/N "Canon? We don't need no steenking canon."
Not that the story isn't good...it IS...but if all authors stuck to canon, we could all zap our computers into the Blue Screen of Death and just sit passively and wait for DH to tell the authors what to do.

Good on 'ya, you have talent, Imagination and arent afraid to use it.

BTW, I love Ginny's check list, and Harry's obvious frustration. By George, I think she's got it!
But then,a DE (starter model) has HER, and it's TA-DA Harry to the rescue...maybe.

Darian



Reviewer: knightsbridge Signed Date: 2007.07.06 - 10:48PM Title: Prologue: Ars Gratia Artis

starstarstarstarstar

I think the best line was in your A/N "Canon? We don't need no steenking canon."
Not that the story isn't good...it IS...but if all authors stuck to canon, we could all zap our computers into the Blue Screen of Death and just sit passively and wait for DH to tell the authors what to do.

Good on 'ya, you have talent, Imagination and arent afraid to use it.

BTW, I love Ginny's check list, and Harry's obvious frustration. By George, I think she's got it!
But then,a DE (starter model) has HER, and it's TA-DA Harry to the rescue...maybe.

Darian



Reviewer: lecook4 Signed Date: 2007.07.06 - 09:04PM Title: Prologue: Ars Gratia Artis

starstarstarstarstar

I was laughing just in the beginning lines. Eric better watch out, because I think he has competition in the comedy zone. :-)

I loved the spell he ended up using, 'Tripudo Mundofinitis Sellulosa' and the silvery flickering light. Hmmm! Let me guess. This looks to be too good and I can't wait to see where you take them. I will just have to wait - anticipation building. - Lynn

Author's Response: Competition for Eric? I was here first, I just lent Eric my crown for a while... ;-) Next stop is a long time ago in a plot device far, far away...




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear