Search:

SIYE Time:2:27 on 18th September 2021

Reviews For Hollywood Or What?

Reviewer: Nemo1024 Anonymous Date: 2007.10.08 - 09:52AM Title: Gee Baby Ain't I Good To You - the Crib Sheet

starstarstarstarstar

Hooray, I managed to get some of the references right! :) That was an entertaining story. Thank you.

Author's Response: Yay, someone found the crib sheet useful! VINDICATION AT LAST!
(Oh, and thanks!)

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Nemo1024 Anonymous Date: 2007.10.05 - 06:40AM Title: Chapter Four: Shades of Gray

starstarstarstarstar

Splendid work. I even think I saw nods to Terry Pratchett several places in this chapter and I tought that the time dialog was a Colon and Nobby stunt. Waiting for the "Revenge" :)

Author's Response: A few subtle Pratchett nods, yup. And definitely an element of Nobby and Colon. But the main reference is the Goon Show. Anyway, there won't be a separate sequel, though parts of the Epilogue are it.

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: running_swift Signed Date: 2007.10.03 - 11:11AM Title: Chapter Four: Shades of Gray

starstarstarstarstar

Something I particularly liked was Harry's (British Harry, that is) complete understanding of the wizarding world. I know that's a really stupid someting to notice but he's got this complete acceptance and it's kinda satisfying to see him have to persuade someone else - or at least try to persuade someone else - well, himself, that it's all real.

So explain to me the point of that random interlude that you just had to stick in because you had to? Oh, wait... yeah, just explained it to myself. Never mind. Nevertheless, it's an amusing piece of pointlessness. Not entirely seeing its point in the chapter but oh well.

The thing that I've found from reading the whole chapter is that British Engish makes much more sense to me than American English does. (I don't mean to offend anyone with this statement, by the way.) The main reason is because I grew up with it. But to be really honest... things make more sense when it's British. Even the whole 'bloody this and that' stuff. And the word 'bonkers'. Always a good one to use, that.

Best bit was a bookcase falling on top of Harry. The idiocy of it was just... laughable. There's a better word I'm looking for but it's not coming to me.

Anyway, I think I may have rambled enough. However, I have something to pick - why did Clough say 'movies'? British people don't say 'movies'! Or is he just... really not British?

Well, I must review the next chappie. Off I hop!

Lisa

PS - CHARLIE'S ANGELS ROCK. =D


Author's Response: Clough is British, but he's affected by the genre-skipping like all the others - just not as much.



Reviewer: running_swift Signed Date: 2007.10.03 - 08:12AM Title: Gee Baby Ain't I Good To You - the Crib Sheet

starstarstarstarstar

You carry a pair of handcuffs on your keyring?? :P

About the Dalek thing - what are the bets you would have never put that in if one of your friends wasn't so obsessed with Doctor Who? :D

And... you're welcome, for the Dob-Dob thing XD

Author's Response: Even I have heard of Daleks, you know. :-p Anyway, no, I carry a handcuff key on my keyring. Just in case. I used to do a spot of security work, remember.



Reviewer: Buttercup Signed Date: 2007.10.02 - 09:47PM Title: Gee Baby Ain't I Good To You - the Crib Sheet

starstarstarstarstar

Until you explained the P.I. chapter, I was willing to bet it was heavily based upon Steve Martin's Dead Men Don't Wear Plaid. If you haven't seen it, you must. It costars Humphrey Bogart, no lie. It's one of Steve Martin's earliest films, and by far one of his best. It's entirely in black and white and is the Robin Hood: Men in Tights of Detective/P.I. movies from the 30s-50s. Your story was great! I loved it.

Author's Response: Dead Men Don't Wear Plaid is, just like that chapter, a spoof of the whole film noir genre; in fact, Bogart - along with a whole bunch of actors from the era - is featured by means of cleverly placed stock footage, rather than actually co-starring. Anyway, glad you enjoyed the story!



Reviewer: hms42 Signed Date: 2007.10.02 - 03:27PM Title: Gee Baby Ain't I Good To You - the Crib Sheet

starstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: quinn Signed Date: 2007.10.02 - 08:32AM Title: Gee Baby Ain't I Good To You - the Crib Sheet

starstarstarstarstar

The best parodies always advertise the unplanned sequel... Like The Complete History of the World: Part One. And that's beautiful.

Your crib sheets are great. And I think I'm with you on the horcruces.
Thanks for a great time of having my favorite characters muck about those situations that are nigh on impossible to plausibly get them into. And thanks for the suggestion tho read this, it was great:-)

Looking forward to whatever comes next!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it - next up is my entry into the current challenge, with, shall we say, a slightly unconventional approach. Even by my standards.



Reviewer: Alexi Drake Signed Date: 2007.10.01 - 02:06PM Title: Gee Baby Ain't I Good To You - the Crib Sheet

starstarstarstarstar

Just wanting to let you know that you are evil. But, its in a good way!

Great story can not wait for the Sequel

Hollywood Or What? The Wrath of the Sequel

Author's Response: Won't be any sequel for this one, I'm afraid. But yes, I am evil. Thanks!



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2007.09.30 - 11:44AM Title: Chapter Four: Shades of Gray

starstarstarstarstar

The thing that I have enjoyed the most about this story is that while it is clearly a parody, it uses that device in a manner to promote and enhance a Harry/Ginny story. Here again we can clearly see that Harry’s actions are directed toward protecting Ginny. He mentally acknowledges this, but in the context of the Humphrey the Bogart situation, we get to both have fun and see his reaction to the setting we are given. As before, your characterizations are great and accurate; I can picture them in my mind’s eye and that is always important to me. Again I took up the challenge to see which Harry Potter actor might have been in the referenced film. The best that I could do this time was Professor McGonagall’s Maggie Smith after her work in Neil Simon’s Murder By Death. This was an enjoyable read. Thanks again. Eric

Author's Response: Actually, I cheated on this one. The Maltese Falcon, I decided, was played by Fawkes...
Anyway, thanks for the review - I wish everyone wrote reviews like you and Quinn!



Reviewer: quinn Signed Date: 2007.09.29 - 05:41PM Title: Chapter Four: Shades of Gray

starstarstarstarstar

Another amazing one. Wibble?

Love it, angels and all. Of course, that doesn't mean you haven't left me completely confused. For a minute there, it almost seemed like the story was over, but that vague ending... Will they come out safe? Is Clough really on their side now? Is he clever enough to have fooled them? Will Harry and Ginny stumble into danger again? And most importantly, will the profits be enough for the producers to greenlight the sequel?
I hope so!

Author's Response: Well, a hint would be to see if the story's listed as "COMPLETED". There's one more instalment to come... and of course then a crib sheet to explain the jokes and references. And no, Clough is barely clever enough to fool a dead snail who's had an overdose of gullibility pills. On a good day. ;-)



Reviewer: Nemo1024 Anonymous Date: 2007.09.18 - 08:20AM Title: Level 3: The Catacombs Of Kekarce

starstarstarstarstar

I definitely like the way you play it out. The game reload sequence was hilarious. Being an avid FPS player myself, I sometimes have reload sequences in my dreams - when a particularly bad dream occurs or when I am unsatisfied with the result, I force-reload it and re-dream it along another path. Sometimes it feels like Matrix.

Author's Response: Thanks! And yeah, I know exactly the sort of thing you mean...

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: quinn Signed Date: 2007.09.06 - 09:27PM Title: Level 3: The Catacombs Of Kekarce

starstarstarstarstar

I've got to agree with you guys, I'm all about Ginny's guns. This story is awesome. Great premise, better results. Ridiculous.

My favorite bits so far would be Clough toying with the lightsaber, the italics failing to appear, the Alan Rickman scene (Way cool. He can pronounce a semicolon.), and everything else I suppose. I like Ginny restarting the level too. That is what happened, right? How'd I get in a video game? Ah well. Glad you give your charachters some freedom to make their own decisions. Most writers don't seem to take in their feelings. Good on ya.

Now correct me if I'm wrong, but wasn't Ginny about to get in the shower when pulled into the vortex? Because the movies have provided her clothes so far. Does that mean when she and Harry come out...

You need to post more chapters.

Author's Response: Yup, she restarted the level - in fact, note carefully what it says when she ascends the stairs. I reckoned I could cross over into games there, given that Tomb Raider is both. Note also the computer game habit of closing the way backwards when reaching a new level. :-) Yes, she was about to.have a wash, but was still fully dressed (minus shoes and t-shirt) at the time of the abduction. Of course, Harry might have trouble explaining why she's shirtless on their return, but still.



Reviewer: oeyp Signed Date: 2007.09.01 - 07:32AM Title: Chapter II: Noe Ye Olde Wimple-eth Fore Me-eth

starstarstarstarstar

LOL.

I was half-expecting Harry to break out into song:

The night is young, and you're so glamorous, and if I seem over-amorous, lady..."



Author's Response: He would have done, had he had any suitable scenes. I tried to work it in, but there wasn't anywhere to put it... :-(



Reviewer: Sovran Signed Date: 2007.08.31 - 11:51PM Title: Level 3: The Catacombs Of Kekarce

starstarstarstarstar

You should be shot for 'chain reaction', nevermind how you treated poor Harry. The beheading? No big deal. Keeping him from getting close to Ginny while she was in that figure? Punishable by death.

Oh, and I laughed aloud at the interjected description of the chasm room.

Author's Response: Hehe, yes, I suppose that was rather cruel of me. But it all worked out in the end. ;-)
As for that description, I'm quite pleased with myself for that... :-D



Reviewer: JonathanRL Anonymous Date: 2007.08.20 - 05:53AM Title: Level 3: The Catacombs Of Kekarce

starstarstarstarstar

Brilliant as always. I had a jolly good laugh at this.
Keep it up, mate. Update soon.

Author's Response: Tackar och bockar!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2007.08.19 - 11:11AM Title: Level 3: The Catacombs Of Kekarce

starstarstarstarhalf-star

As much as you write about him, I would have thought that Harry appreciated and got on better with you. Still…the head thing might have strained matters a bit. Harry should have brought along the comic relief sidekick to lead the way. Well there are two things for which we have to be thankful: reset buttons and seeing the stars come back in movie sequels. Both of these are keys to long life in Hollywood. I am especially enjoying the precise, graphic way that you are describing the action scenes, especially the more hair-raising ones. Not only are you drawing us into the action, you are also painting a very vivid picture in the mind’s eye. I almost ducked when all that blood came sailing my way. I’m looking forward to how they get out of this one. Nice pistols by the way. Eric

Author's Response: Yes, Ginny has lovely guns. Anyway, of all the action scenes in this chapter, I think my favourite has to be the ending, where they all leap into the vortex. Took some choreographing, that one...



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2007.08.19 - 10:40AM Title: Interlude: Back To Reality?

starstarstarstar

I actually tried a scene once where Harry met Daniel, and I've wanted to see how someone else would handle such a situation. Clough's sudden appearance actually surprised me more than I expected.

Author's Response: Honest answer? Clough's sudden appearance was because I was running out of story... :-p



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2007.08.19 - 10:36AM Title: Chapter II: Noe Ye Olde Wimple-eth Fore Me-eth

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Those dresses really are a pain I understand, even when the girls get to wear a brassiere. My bartender explained that she had to where something resembling that for years, but at a pie house not a tavern. Holy smoke…I thought that our tax people were bad when they audited us last month. I was actually born in Hollywood, and yes that does explain a lot. Besides providing us with a lot of great fun, I've noticed something else that is consistent with your chosen films. Professor Flitwick’s Warwick Davis had a role in the final Star Wars film (the Ewok Wicket). Professor Snape’s Alan Rickman portrayed the sheriff in Costner’s version of this chapter. I greatly prefer a British actor in the role. I need to get one of those devices from Molly Weasley; I have a daughter. Thanks! Eric

Author's Response: Ah, you spotted the cunningly hidden subjokes! The pyjamas, of course, is nicked from Meaning Of One.



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2007.08.19 - 10:09AM Title: Episode One: A New Trope

starstarstarstarhalf-star

You’ve set the stage in this chapter for a nice balance of confusion. We not only enjoy the Wizards confused by the Muggle world, we also see others bewildered by movies that they haven’t seen. We further get to have fun with your adaptations of characters and settings which those who have experienced the film are familiar. Those laser devices really should come with a warning label. The best part is that recognizing your overall theme, we are on the edge of our computer chairs waiting to see where you lead us. The whole thing is one big cliffhanger even when we know what may probably happen. Thanks! Eric

Author's Response: Thanks! Confusion is funny... :-D



Reviewer: sapphire200182 Signed Date: 2007.08.03 - 03:37AM Title: Chapter II: Noe Ye Olde Wimple-eth Fore Me-eth

starstarstarstarstar

Aha! Watch Robin did you Tights in Men Hood?

Author's Response: I didn't watch any menhoods, though I suppose Ginny might have been trying to when they were captured. But yes, this does loosely parody Robin Hood: Men In Tights. ;-)




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear