Search:

SIYE Time:11:58 on 13th August 2022


Reviewer: NPP6 Signed Date: 2020.03.17 - 11:29PM Title: The Best Laid Schemes

Oh, I dunno. I can totally see them doing this between GoF and OotP.



Reviewer: Ranma-sensei Signed Date: 2014.06.22 - 07:52PM Title: The Best Laid Schemes

starstarstarstarstar

I usually do not do pointless reviews, but this was bloody hilarious and I would probably burst if I did not tell you.

In character or not, this was funny as hell!

Keep narrating,
Ranma-sensei



Reviewer: jediprankster Signed Date: 2009.06.30 - 06:38PM Title: The Best Laid Schemes

starstarstarstar

I'm only just now getting to this story. I must say that I am surprised. Pleasantly, horribly, disturbedly, surprised. (And yes I know that disturbedly isn't a word, but it should be)

When I read the description of the story, I didn't read the genre. I only read the description, and went directly to the opening author's note, so I wasn't trying to figure out what the tragedy was. I correctly surmised that it had to happen at least after their third year, because Sirius was mentioned. Also, they didn't have a reason to need revenge on Fudge until then at the earliest.

I also caught that it was a Fwooper and a Quick Quotes Quill, though the purpose of the blindfold did elude me until I read reviews. The comment from chapter 12 of part one, did not even enter my mind until I read the reviews. Odd, that. Considering that it was one of the funniest things I have ever read in HP fanfiction, (I especially liked how you reversed the wording to say 'am I thinking what you're thinking?' instead of 'are you thinking what I'm thinking?' followed by 'we think so' instead of 'I think so'.)

Of course, the best part of this whole thing is the reason I was so caught off guard by this whole thing. After reading the description of the story, I thought I would be reading about Fred and George getting revenge on Harry and Ginny for a prank. Boy was I wrong!

I also wanted to say that I didn't even make the connection (until I read the reviews) with the title being ...part i, with 'i' being the imaginary number: the square root of negative one. It's odd that I didn't make that connection because 'i' is my favorite number. I like it because I love the idea of something that doesn't exist being necessary for higher math (not to mention some lower math). Now I have to go back and reread the story with all this new insight.

Author's Response: Disturbedly works for me. Offhand, I can\'t think of a proper word that conveys the same meaning.
I originally wrote that line in MoO1:12 just as a joke, and it amused me greatly. The idea wouldn\'t leave me alone, though, and I got to thinking about the possible consequences. How could I resist writing them down?
When I pondered what to call this story, part i just seemed (if you\'ll pardon the pun) rational to me. If I do any more of these, I look forward to naming them part 2i, etc, or perhaps 1/2i. Or i^i. So many possibilities.



Reviewer: cantante Signed Date: 2007.08.19 - 11:29PM Title: The Best Laid Schemes

starstarstarstarstar

i have a feeling that i'm going to have to think about this for quite a while. and i'm sure that once i figure it out, i'll be embarrassed that i didn't get it sooner. but for now, i'm really confused. help?

Author's Response: If you read the other review responses, I think they'll probably answer any question you might have. If not, feel free to email me and I'll explain further. Thanks!



Reviewer: sacrutchfield Signed Date: 2007.07.06 - 11:31AM Title: The Best Laid Schemes

starstarstarstarstar

very funny

Author's Response: Thanks very much.



Reviewer: proyjr Signed Date: 2007.05.12 - 10:12PM Title: The Best Laid Schemes

starstarstarstarstar

this is great
when is the part 2 comming out

Author's Response: Well, I'm a bit late responding to your review, so hopefully you know that Part Two is already posted. Thanks!



Reviewer: Chunky Signed Date: 2007.04.24 - 10:51AM Title: The Best Laid Schemes

starstarstarstarstar

Hm. You hinted that already ;) In MoO - PS in the kitchens, there is a dialog between harry and ginny. Something like "Are you thinking what I am thinking?" "I guess so, but where can we find a Qick-Qotes-Quill and a Fwooper at this hour?"

So you made it true ;) Happy that it not "really" happened though... At that time - meaning during Harrys 3rd year in Hogwarts or shortly after - Fudge is not enough of an idiot to possibly justify such an action. later on though... never mind ^^ I liked it.

--Chunky

Author's Response: Yeah, I got to thinking about how that particular combination might work and how it might be used. The result, as you see, is not exactly pretty. Thanks for reading!



Reviewer: brad Signed Date: 2007.04.20 - 12:39AM Title: The Best Laid Schemes

starstarstar

::sigh:: Another I.Q. test I've failed ... :-(

Well, I had the gist of it - a QQQ being used to transcribe something *bad* into a letter which Fudge then read - but couldn't think of any magical creature which fit, other than a madrake, which kills, doesn't render insane. I dare say this trick could possibly be used to murder rather than bewilder? Although maybe a mandrake's *song* can't be transcribed into *words* like a Fwooper.

Anyway, I'd totally forgotten about Fwoopers - still don't know where the canon reference is? - and the reference to same in your story. I've read your review responses to learn what this tale was all about.

Oh, something I don't grok, the whole 'genre' thing. One of your respondents said that he now 'understood' the genre to which this belonged. I still don't. Help?

Author's Response: It was a tough test. The "% passing" has been pretty low.
I'm not sure about the Mandrake idea. It has more of a scream than a song, so I'm not sure how it would transcribe. You never know, though . . . it might work. Nasty thought. Actually, the Mandrake/Howler combo would certainly work.
As best as I can remember, Fwoopers do not show up in the canon novels. They're mentioned in "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" and, thus, on the HP Lexicon.
The genre of the story is listed as Tragedy, and Nuwnuw's review (and several of my responses) explains why. It's quite tragic that two previously-positive and wholesome children (13 and 14, here) could be come the sort of people who would deliberately set out to drive someone insane and, worse, to laugh about it. Spooky.
Thanks for reading!
-Dave



Reviewer: ves_heill Signed Date: 2007.04.18 - 11:47PM Title: The Best Laid Schemes

starstarstarstarstar

Having read the other reviews first before writing this I now understand what was being done, and why. But I fully admit that at first reading my first impression was "What the?!?" I think I have to go back and read FB again...

It's fairly apparent why you and moshpit are friends. And I mean that in the best way it can be interpreted - I'm always impressed with his writing as well. You both have ideas for things that strike me as being some of the most original out there. I, too, am glad this is not the direction that H/G will go in, but enjoyed it as a...well... as whatever it was, I guess.

Looking forward to Part Two!

Author's Response: I'll consider that (all of that) a compliment. There are so many interesting things that can be done in the HP universe. Some of the odder ones seem to occur to me.
Let's call this... a diversion. It's not worth much else. Thanks for reading!



Reviewer: Anastashia197 Signed Date: 2007.04.17 - 10:46PM Title: The Best Laid Schemes

starstarstarhalf-star

i dont really think id like to read the rest of this alternate, but it curiosity did kill the cat.

Author's Response: I know I wouldn't. I'm all in favor of chasing plot bunnies (or mice), but this is as far as I'm chasing this one. The rest would be too disturbing.
Thanks!



Reviewer: Miri Signed Date: 2007.04.17 - 10:40PM Title: The Best Laid Schemes

starstarstarstarstar

Hmmm...this is about as straight-forward as one of Josh's "reviews". Wait a minute while I go back and read it again.

OK...I think I get it. And I think I see why you classify it as a tragedy. Harry and Ginny seem to have used their power and skill to manipulate a Fwooper bird into sending a kind of Howler to Fudge. The purpose of this was to deliberately and "with malice aforethought" (as the phrasing goes) cause a human being to go permanently insane. They not only have apparently done this dark action, but seemingly done so with great glee. You're right this is NOT the Ginny/Harry of MoO. Thank goodness.

While there are some humourous touches--Hermione as "a closet Mills and Boon fan"--(love it, I spent my adolescence as an M&B reader); there are more disturbing touches. Sending the Fwooper to Luna bothers me. What might happen to her? Much as we all dislike Umbridge ( she's so easy to hate) I rather wonder what might be in store for her at the hands of H/G.

Author's Response: I'll take that as a compliment. =)
You've got the tragedy down pat. Can you imagine a 14 year old and a 13 year old doing that? What might they get up to as adults? Yuck.
I did think about Luna. But since Fwoopers are sold at all, that seems to indicate that a silencing charm can make them safe, and h/g did replace the charm. Given Luna's interests and her father's pursuits, I suspect that the two Lovegoods will know just how to care for a Fwooper safely, and they may even be really fond of it.
Perhaps the most disturbing thing about this setup is that, given how little the wizarding world understood about what happened to Fudge, h/g might be able to do the same thing many more times without getting caught. If they didn't use Hedwig, they'd be very hard to track down. Scary.
Thanks very much for reading and getting it. =)



Reviewer: Chatmandu Signed Date: 2007.04.17 - 10:08PM Title: The Best Laid Schemes

starstarstarstarstar

I don't think the letter to Fudge was a Howler. Howlers come in red envelopes and the writing on the back of this envelope was in red ink. That wouldn‘t be very easy to read. I think the Quick-Quotes Quill wrote on to the parchment, and the parchment was charmed (cursed?) to let the reader hear the Fwooper. That is why the person rolling up the parchment in Hagrid’s cabin wore a blindfold. A very nasty prank.

Yeah, I can see where a long story with a Harry and Ginny willing to drive some one permanently insane, as a joke no less, is not one I would like to read. Ginny can be vicious, even in canon, but this is too much.

I am assuming the plot mouse (Pinky?) came from the first prank Potsley was involved with, the one with the flame powder in Chapter 12, “Fun and Games”. …

“They both grinned mischievously. ‘Am I thinking what you’re thinking, Ginny?’ Harry asked aloud for the twins to hear.
’We think so, Harry, but where are we going to find a Fwooper and a Quick-Quotes Quill at this hour?’ she quipped.”


Author's Response: Now you're thinking. =)
You can read the other review responses for the full canned explanation, but you're right that it wasn't a howler (in fact there was no sound involved at all). The note on the outside of the envelope was merely an enticement to cause Fudge to open it.
This is way too much, if you ask me. I wouldn't want to write the rest of the stories if they were like that. Can you imagine the prophecy that might come along?
The one with the one to defeat one approaches
Born to one who have once defied one, born as the first month dies,
And one will mark one as one, but one will have one the one knows not
And one must die at the one of one, for one can one while one ones.
Dang, that was too much fun to write.
And, of course, you've properly identified the mouse.



Reviewer: noylj Signed Date: 2007.04.17 - 09:33PM Title: The Best Laid Schemes

starstarstarhalf-star

I am sorry, but this story went right over my head and I have no idea what the children did to what or why or how

Author's Response: The story takes place after third year, and h/g are seeking revenge for Sirius' imprisonment without a trial.
Back in Chapter 12 of MoO Part One, Ginny jokingly said, "We think so, Harry, but where are we going to get a Fwooper and a Quick Quotes Quill at this hour?" This story is about what might happen if you combined those two things. The QQQ is designed to take whatever's said and write it down, making it sound flowery and a bit ridiculous. The Fwooper's song is said to drive people insane. When you combine the two (as H/G did), the QQQ translates the Fwooper's song into something that can be read, but the result apparently still drives people insane if they read it. So they got the song onto paper without hearing or seeing it, and then they sent it in a letter to Fudge.
Nuwnuw explained the tragedy quite well in his/her review, so I'll just borrow the same words:
"In this story, Harry and Ginny knowingly and willfully drove a man insane. That's what Bellatrix Lestrange and her crew did to Neville Longbottom's parents. THAT, I believe is the real tragedy of this story. Harry and Ginny might not have used the same method (the Cruciatus Curse), but the end result wasn't much different. And, like Bella, they enjoyed doing it. That Harry and Ginny would sink to that level of cruelty and... well... evil is what makes this story tragic."
Hope this helps,
Dave



Reviewer: whatareyouevensaying Signed Date: 2007.04.17 - 04:48PM Title: The Best Laid Schemes

starstarstarstarstar

I thought everything was going swimmingly until they made Umbridge interim minister. Then the genre became clear. I liked the small teasers for the next couple of books, namely the mention of Lockhart and Sirius.

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it.



Reviewer: Wildfan79 Signed Date: 2007.04.17 - 03:01PM Title: The Best Laid Schemes

starstarstarstarstar

A Fwooper sung Howler to Fudge! Hilarious, even better if Draco had gotten it or even better the Dursleys(if that would be possible). I susperct they thought it would be funny, and not turn the minister insane. A great little gem.

Author's Response: It wasn't a Howler, but close enough. It's hard to say for sure what h/g thought would happen, but it seems like they must have at least considered the possibility that it would drive Fudge insane. Rather scary, that.



Reviewer: Geopardy Signed Date: 2007.04.17 - 01:32PM Title: The Best Laid Schemes

starstarstarstarstar

Color me stupid, but I am exceedingly confused. I have read Meaning of One Part One in its entirety, and I read your author's notes, paid attention to the genre (tradgedy), however unless I am sadly mistaken this story takes place at least 2-3 years after the conclusion of Part I (as you alude to Sirius being free enough to get to the Minister's office therefore he has escaped from Azkaban which doed not occur until book 3 in canon) also revenge for what exectly? Did they miss their intended target and get Fudge accidentally? I truly love your Meaning of One AU and am eagarly awaiting the start of Part II but I just do not understand the premis for this story. If you could explain it for me I would be very grateful. Until then...

LLAP,

Geopardy

Author's Response: The story takes place after third year, and h/g are seeking revenge for Sirius' imprisonment without a trial.
Back in Chapter 12 of MoO Part One, Ginny jokingly said, "We think so, Harry, but where are we going to get a Fwooper and a Quick Quotes Quill at this hour?" This story is about what might happen if you combined those two things. The QQQ is designed to take whatever's said and write it down, making it sound flowery and a bit ridiculous. The Fwooper's song is said to drive people insane. When you combine the two (as H/G did), the QQQ translates the Fwooper's song into something that can be read, but the result apparently still drives people insane if they read it. So they got the song onto paper without hearing or seeing it, and then they sent it in a letter to Fudge.
Nuwnuw explained the tragedy quite well in his/her review, so I'll just borrow the same words:
"In this story, Harry and Ginny knowingly and willfully drove a man insane. That's what Bellatrix Lestrange and her crew did to Neville Longbottom's parents. THAT, I believe is the real tragedy of this story. Harry and Ginny might not have used the same method (the Cruciatus Curse), but the end result wasn't much different. And, like Bella, they enjoyed doing it. That Harry and Ginny would sink to that level of cruelty and... well... evil is what makes this story tragic."
Hope this helps,
Dave



Reviewer: nuwnuw Signed Date: 2007.04.17 - 12:41PM Title: The Best Laid Schemes

starstarstarstarstar

All right, first off I just want to say I immensely enjoy your MOO universe -- Part One was by far one of the best stories I've read. I never reviewed before because I didn't have an account until today. So, as you might imagine, I got all excited when I saw this in the recent stories list only to be slightly disappointed when I realized it wasn't Part Two.

At any rate, I'm pretty sure am12 has the right idea as far as what Harry and Ginny actually did. That was the first thing I thought of, at any rate. And despite what others may say, I totally understand this story being a Tragedy. Yes, it's tragic that Umbridge became Minister and all that, but I think most of the reviewers have missed the larger picture here because they're not looking at the characters as actual people. In this story, Harry and Ginny knowingly and willfully drove a man insane. That's what Bellatrix Lestrange and her crew did to Neville Longbottom's parents. THAT, I believe is the real tragedy of this story. Harry and Ginny might not have used the same method (the Cruciatus Curse), but the end result wasn't much different. And, like Bella, they enjoyed doing it. That Harry and Ginny would sink to that level of cruelty and... well... evil is what makes this story tragic.

In light of all that, THANK YOU very much for not making this part of the real story. I totally understand what it's like to get a plot bunny like this that would never work in your real story, and I think writing a one-shot like this is a great way to deal with it. By the way, do you have an estimate for when the first installment of Part Two will be up?

Author's Response: Sorry to disappoint you, but it won't be too long before the first chapter of Part Two is posted. Thanks for taking the time to review.
The actual mechanics involved a Quick Quotes Quill and a Fwooper, but not a Howler. You understood the tragic aspect so well that I've been using your summary to explain it to others. I hope you don't mind.
To be completely honest, there are several tragedies going on here. First and foremost is the one you mentioned, involving what h/g are or will become. Second is what they've done to Sirius . . . they've caused him to be accused of a crime, and it will be almost impossible for anyone to prove that he didn't do it. Unless h/g confess, which has all sorts of tragic implications of its own. Third is the tragedy of having the wizarding world under the leadership of Umbridge during the second war. I really, really appreciate that you saw the main tragedy so clearly.
I don't think I could stand to write the rest of the series if this had actually happened. Talk about dark. Yuck.
The first chapter of Part Two is in beta, so I hope to have it posted in 2 weeks, more or less.
Thanks very much,
Dave



Reviewer: sideline Signed Date: 2007.04.17 - 12:18PM Title: The Best Laid Schemes

starstarstarstarstar

Did a Mandrake dictate a howler with a quick quotes quill? The blindfold has got me confused. Perhaps they sent a dead Basilisk along for the ride?

Author's Response: Back in Chapter 12 of MoO Part One, Ginny jokingly said, "We think so, Harry, but where are we going to get a Fwooper and a Quick Quotes Quill at this hour?" This story is about what might happen if you combined those two things. The QQQ is designed to take whatever's said and write it down, making it sound flowery and a bit ridiculous. The Fwooper's song is said to drive people insane. When you combine the two (as H/G did), the QQQ translates the Fwooper's song into something that can be read, but the result apparently still drives people insane if they read it. So they got the song onto paper without hearing or seeing it (hence the blindfold), and then they sent it in a letter to Fudge.
Hope this helps,
Dave



Reviewer: Quizer Signed Date: 2007.04.17 - 11:34AM Title: The Best Laid Schemes

Having read the reviews and re-read the story, I can now determine that a Howler was involved, but just what was recorded to me is still a mystery, though. I believe that the 'tragedy' part refers to the creature's identity, which makes me reluctant to ask about it directly. Still, a hint might be appreciated so I can search for myself and know true horror...


Quizer

Author's Response: It wasn't actually a howler, just a QQQ transliterating an ordinary Fwooper's song onto plain paper. Reading it would be enough to drive Fudge insane.



Reviewer: Quizer Signed Date: 2007.04.17 - 11:21AM Title: The Best Laid Schemes

starstarstarstarstar

I don't think I quite understand this off-shoot story. Exactly what happened is totally going over my head. Apparently it's happening in the summer after year two. Is the story a tragedy because the prank (whatever they actually did) caused Umbridge to become acting Minister? Is Fudge going mad because he was the animal that was in the cage they wanted to give to Luna? What is the deal with the parchment? I fear this is all a bit too cryptic and obscure to me, or my brain is just not currently firing on all cylinders. If you could drop a few hints that might help me make more sense of this, it might be appreciated. I'll check out the reviews section to see if there are others who have been more observant than I.


Quizer

Author's Response: The story takes place after third year. H/G are seeking revenge for Sirius' imprisonment without a trial.
Back in Chapter 12 of MoO Part One, Ginny jokingly said, "We think so, Harry, but where are we going to get a Fwooper and a Quick Quotes Quill at this hour?" This story is about what might happen if you combined those two things. The QQQ is designed to take whatever's said and write it down, making it sound flowery and a bit ridiculous. The Fwooper's song is said to drive people insane. When you combine the two (as H/G did), the QQQ translates the Fwooper's song into something that can be read, but the result apparently still drives people insane if they read it. So they got the song onto paper without hearing or seeing it, and then they sent it in a letter to Fudge.
Nuwnuw explained the tragedy quite well in his/her review, so I'll just borrow the same words:
In this story, Harry and Ginny knowingly and willfully drove a man insane. That's what Bellatrix Lestrange and her crew did to Neville Longbottom's parents. THAT, I believe is the real tragedy of this story. Harry and Ginny might not have used the same method (the Cruciatus Curse), but the end result wasn't much different. And, like Bella, they enjoyed doing it. That Harry and Ginny would sink to that level of cruelty and... well... evil is what makes this story tragic.
Hope this answers all of your questions,
Dave




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear