Search:

SIYE Time:13:57 on 18th May 2021


Reviewer: LoveIsMagicHarry Signed Date: 2012.08.20 - 05:06PM Title: A Helping of Weasley Fluff

starstarstarstarhalf-star

This is so lovely! It's not just fluff- it has some really wise bits and things I just loved. Great description, too. It made my heart happy. I can't wait to read more of your stories!



Reviewer: cloisginnyharry25 Signed Date: 2011.04.24 - 03:22AM Title: A Helping of Weasley Fluff

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: juice14 Signed Date: 2009.08.16 - 10:28AM Title: A Helping of Weasley Fluff

starstarstarstarstar

Weasley fluff roxxorz!

Author's Response: I haven\'t checked this site for so long that missed your review. I even learned a new word! Thanks for the review.



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2009.07.05 - 06:03PM Title: A Helping of Weasley Fluff

starstarstarstarstar

That was lovely. A very uplifting piece of fluffy fluff!

Author's Response: Thanks! I\'m glad you enjoyed it.



Reviewer: Ginny Guerra Signed Date: 2007.08.28 - 05:58PM Title: A Helping of Weasley Fluff

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Aaaaaw! This was sooooo sweet! Just my kind of reading!

Author's Response: Thanks! I;m glad you liked it!



Reviewer: janepotter Signed Date: 2007.02.20 - 07:33PM Title: A Helping of Weasley Fluff

starstarstarstarstar

I couldn't help but notice that Ginny's ring changes from ruby to opal. Might want to fix that.

I laughed on the first sentence of this story - obsenely white snow - and spent the rest of it laughing and crying. Only Harry could mess up a preposal that bad. Bmarry....

Author's Response: I\'m glad you liked his botched proposal. :) I can\'t find where the ring changes, though. He looked at rubies, but never chose one. if you could send me a message with what you thought was confusing I can edit it. Thanks for the review.



Reviewer: Jim McGuffin Signed Date: 2007.01.18 - 11:56PM Title: A Helping of Weasley Fluff

starstarstarstarstar

Judged for competition.

This was a nice, fluffy little story. Poor Professor McGonagall, stuck having to be both Headmistress and Transfiguration teacher, but it's good to see Remus back for Defense. So Harry, Ron and Hermione go back to Hogwarts -- I'm glad that Ginny wasn't too angry being left behind.

The Room of Requirement -- that's certainly a quick way to find yourself a ring, right? Although Remus hasn't proposed to anyone -- yet, that is -- his experience with James and his ring for Lily is certainly helpful when Harry considers his ring for Ginny.

And so the twins interfere, not so much with Harry's proposal, but with his trying to discuss things with Arthur and Molly. That may have been a big collision, but it's convenient in that is gives more time for Harry to talk about his intent to marry Ginny.

The ending was very sweet -- both literally and figuratively. Weasley fluff? By the title I thought you meant Weasley romance, not an actual dessert. LOL! I like the various designs that appear in the fluff for each of the couples as well as Percy -- good to see that he's back with the family as well.

Overall, good job -- I'm sure Jaq would've enjoyed the fluff. I wish you luck in the challenge!

Author's Response: Thanks, Jim. I can\'t imagine JKR will have Percy rejoin the family so easily. In fact, I\'m much more inclined to believe that he\'\'ll spy for the Order without his family knowing he\'s turned back to their side. But, if you\'re going to write a fluff piece, you may as well go all the way in, right? :)



Reviewer: Chreechree Signed Date: 2007.01.16 - 05:07AM Title: A Helping of Weasley Fluff

starstarstarstarstar

Read for judging

Oh, Erika, that was charming and beautiful. So many wonderful moments. All the angsty bits at the beginning were particularly well done - Harry's vivid recollection of leaving Ginny (and her bestowing the afghan later), his crying and simply admitting to Ron and Hermione that he missed her, his overall maturation into the young man I know is in canon Harry. He felt like a young man ready to marry, not a hapless teenager who just lurves his girlfriend so is going to propose because what else do you do when you’re young and in love (cough wait cough)? Also, thank you for your beautiful portrayal of Ron and Hermione, so often caricatures in fan fiction - these two felt like Harry's dearest friends and like a strong and loving couple in their own right. My favorite line, of course, was when Ginny talked about losing her best friend, her dearest brother, and “I was losing my everything.” I got all teary. Absolutely splendid. Good luck!


Author's Response: Thanks, Christine. Reviews from you are better than presents! I\'m glad you thought Harry\'s maturation was a believable extention of canon Harry. (I think he has it in him, too!) It was important to me that Harry seemed mature enough to get engaged--I didn\'t want his proposal to feel rushed or desparate. I couldn\'t suspend that belief in what marriage should be-- not even for a challenge fic. ^-^ I also have to admit that it took me several seconds to get the meaning of your (cough wait cough). Strange considering I spend about 12 hours a day surrounded by high schoolers. That was too funny! I think Ron and Hermione are so fun to write - perhaps more so than Harry and Ginny - because I can see their relationship evolving in so many ways. I\'m glad you liked their role in this. Thanks again for the review. Have fun judging! ~Erika



Reviewer: kmagarden Signed Date: 2007.01.12 - 11:03PM Title: A Helping of Weasley Fluff

starstarstarstarstar

reading/reviewing as a judge for the challenge.

Ohhhh, I'm all verklempt! LOL I'm all misty eyed. Too much fluff. (no there's no such thing!) You did such a great job! Weasly Fluff - what a great idea! Loved it!

Author's Response: I\'m glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reviewing and have fun judging.



Reviewer: scArs23 Anonymous Date: 2007.01.10 - 11:11PM Title: A Helping of Weasley Fluff

starstarstarstarstar

I loved it! The story was well-developed and the little additions (Weasley Fluff sparkles, the 'it almost seems selfish to wish for more') made this story extremely fun to read. I thought the Room of Requirement bit was a bit convenient but the Lupin-aided selection was a brilliant idea. Although I'd wish to see more Fred/George mayhem, your story came together extremely well. The characterizations were spot-on.

Author's Response: I really think the Room of Requirement is under-utilized by those that know of it. (Well, except Malfoy) Imagine all of the great services it could provide for the students of Hogwarts. Of course, the story would get a little old if all troubles could be solved by such a place. As for the lack of Fred and George, no matter how hard I tried this time around, I just couldn\'t make them behave as I wanted them to. (Who can, I guess) I had to settle for explaining their mayhem through a third party. I\'m glad you enjoyed it and thanks for reviewing!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Katastrophe Signed Date: 2007.01.08 - 06:39PM Title: A Helping of Weasley Fluff

starstarstarstarstar

Judged for Challenge.

Very well put together.

Good luck in the competition!

Author's Response: Thanks! Have fun judging!



Reviewer: Frelling Signed Date: 2007.01.06 - 04:11PM Title: A Helping of Weasley Fluff

starstarstarstarhalf-star

So lovely! I'd have liked to see a little more explanation of the twins' attempts to "help" Harry and Harry's efforts to get past them, but everything else was there! Good luck in the challenge!

Author's Response: Thanks! I thought writing the twins into this one was very difficult. I know that seems odd since it was a major theme of the challenge. All of their unsuccessful attempts to \"help\" are described in Harry\'s tirade before the Quidditch game. Hopefully their actual help in sending Hedwig and the ring down instead of the wishing sprinkles made up for the lack of description of their meddling.



Reviewer: jacsmompat Signed Date: 2007.01.04 - 05:26PM Title: A Helping of Weasley Fluff

starstarstarstarstar

this was a beautiful addition to the challenge. Good luck and know that jaq would have loved it.

Author's Response: Thanks so much!



Reviewer: Sovran Signed Date: 2007.01.04 - 01:21AM Title: A Helping of Weasley Fluff

starstarstarstarstar

Erika, you humble me. The moments of this story are just so good. The farewell between Harry and Ginny was very vivid... I felt like I could see Ginny standing there, right down to her expression and that previously-indescribable look in her eyes. Then the scene where she discovered his new scar... that was incredible. So clearly expressed. So very shown, not told.

Ginny's gift to Harry was absolutely perfect. It said what needed saying without saying anything at all.

I love what you did with Ron and Hermione here. So often authors, myself included, make them the couple that gets together/engaged last, or secondarily, or something. Here, they figured it out first, effectively, and were never once in doubt about it or considered hiding it. Their relationship, as you wrote it, looked like what any good, solid relationship looks like in real life.

I'm so glad you decided to write for this challenge. Top-notch story!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I\'m so glad the \'moments\' came across well--I liked Harry\'s gift too. I thought it showed us that they had done a fair amount of talking since the trio\'s return. You have to love Ron and Hermione, don\'t you? There\'s so much \"scope for imagination\" in their relationship. Their characters are so loyal and stubborn that I think they would be an extremely devoted couple. Thanks for the review.



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2007.01.03 - 10:33AM Title: A Helping of Weasley Fluff

starstarstarstarhalf-star

This was fluffy to the nth degree…and I loved it. You especially did well incorporating the various people of Harry’s world into the process, and their characterizations were mutually supportive. I loved Harry’s exchange with Ron and Hermione, and in a way, I thought that it set the tone for the process that he was entering. Even more so was the talk with Ginny’s parents. Naturally, Remus Lupin was a high point as well. There is something about the man that just seems to bring out the best in Harry, and his role in the third movie was casting genius (Actually, most of them were). This was a story that you want to read a second time because it leaves you thinking and feeling good. Thanks. Eric B.

Author's Response: Thanks--leaving you feeling good was my goal, so I\'m glad it worked. :) I had a hard time coming up with an idea for this challenge because I thought Harry needed to mature a little before feeling he was ready for marriage. I hoped that, by showing his more grown-up relationships with others, I could show that he was ready for that big step in his life. I\'m glad the I definitely have a soft spot for Lupin. I hope he plays a larger role in book 7. Thanks for reviewing.



Reviewer: GREYWOLF Signed Date: 2007.01.02 - 10:21PM Title: A Helping of Weasley Fluff

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Well named. Complete and total fluff. But what could be nicer for Christmas. Lovelly.

Author's Response: Thanks. I have a hard enough time being realistic on normal days, but at Christmas? It wasn\'t possible for me. Thanks for reviewing.



Reviewer: Rhetor Signed Date: 2007.01.01 - 10:37PM Title: A Helping of Weasley Fluff

starstarstarstarstar

Ah, Erika. Lovely. You have some beautiful descriptive moments and I loved the reunion in the library, and Ginny's description of losing her best friend, her brother and her "everything." (My heart melted at that line.)

I think it was a good choice to have Harry confess his feelings to Ron & Hermione first, although it never occurred to me to do it that way. I'd imagined him as more secretive than that, but of course it makes sense, if he's sharing everything else with them he'd share that. And I didn't fail to notice that you referred to Hermione as Ron's financee.

The Room of Requirement was a clever idea for the Ring, and Lupin a kindly (if inexperienced) helper.

I also liked the old-fashioned idea of approaching the parents first, and I was amused and touched by the way they grilled him.

And "Weasley Fluff" was a stroke of genius!

Well done.

~Ken

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I had fun thinking of Mr. and Mrs. Weasley using his asking for permission as a \"teachable moment\" to help Harry learn something about what it takes to have a successful marriage. I\'ve always wondered why Lupin didn\'t take more of an active role in Harry\'s life after PoA. (I\'m glad JKR addressed that a little in HBP.) He\'s one of my favorite characters, so flawed yet still so likeable, I wanted to let him help Harry with something, something a father would do. As for the Weasley Fluff, I needed something so sacred to the Weasley family that not even the twins would dare to mess it up. It was a chance to give Harry his moment. :) When do we get the next installment of Slow Boat? I can\'t wait for that! -Erika



Reviewer: Keira Azul Signed Date: 2007.01.01 - 06:23PM Title: A Helping of Weasley Fluff

starstarstarstar

Judged for Challenge

When you say fluff you mean fluff! :) Good luck in the competition.


Author's Response: In the eternal optimist\'s spirit of Christmas, pure fluff won out. Have fun judging.



Reviewer: nevascared Signed Date: 2007.01.01 - 12:26PM Title: A Helping of Weasley Fluff

starstarstarstarstar

Such a b-e-a utiful story

Author's Response: Thank you very much.



Reviewer: mrscharlyweasley Anonymous Date: 2007.01.01 - 12:56AM Title: A Helping of Weasley Fluff

starstarstarstarstar

i loved the sweetness of it!!!

Author's Response: Thanks! Sweetness was my goal. I\'m glad you enjoyed it.

[Respond: In Review]



../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear