Search:

SIYE Time:13:26 on 18th May 2021


Reviewer: nayin1704 Signed Date: 2016.06.18 - 04:55AM Title: The Best Present of All

Awww so sweet



Reviewer: butterfly Signed Date: 2011.01.19 - 06:34PM Title: The Best Present of All

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Abraxan Signed Date: 2009.07.01 - 11:06AM Title: The Best Present of All

starstarstarstarstar

What a lovely bit of fluff! I thoroughly enjoyed it! I especially liked the twins involvement, and Fred getting the ring stuck on his finger and Harry teasing them before he finally said the counterjinx. Well done!

Abraxan



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2009.06.28 - 06:39PM Title: The Best Present of All

starstarstarstarstar

really sweet



Reviewer: Necie B Signed Date: 2009.03.23 - 01:38AM Title: The Best Present of All

starstarstarhalf-star

Cute and happy! I love the way you wrote the twins.



Reviewer: Artistand Signed Date: 2008.12.21 - 12:50AM Title: The Best Present of All

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Ginny Guerra Signed Date: 2007.10.28 - 10:38PM Title: The Best Present of All

starstarstarstar

Aaaaaw!

Sweet and nice!

Author's Response: Thank you!



Reviewer: meggybyte Signed Date: 2007.09.07 - 02:52AM Title: The Best Present of All

starstarstarstarstar

yes i can spot the sense and sensibility line! (it's one of my most fav movies, not to mention i enjoyed the book too)

this is a fluff-lovers dream! fumbling!harry is always a treat to read, especially when he's so gaga over ginny. ron was a delight too! and the twins! just how did they find out harry's plans? ~_^ ah well, the twins have their way... just wondering though, if JKR ever read this...there seems to be a similarity between your "The Modern Wizard’s Guide to Old-Fashioned Courtship Rituals" and "Twelve Fail Safe Ways to Charm Witches"... ~_^

as always, you bring the much needed h/g fluff to the world, cel! cheers!

Author's Response: Well, I don't want to sound presumptuous, but wouldn't it be cool indeed if JKR had got the idea for "Twelve Fail Safe Ways..." from reading this story? I wish!

i enjoy writing fumbling harry, as he's so cute like that. Thanks, meggybyte. We all need more H/G fluff, don't we?



Reviewer: TomBombadil Anonymous Date: 2007.08.05 - 11:15PM Title: The Best Present of All

starstarstarstar

This was a really cute story that I thoroughly enjoyed. It's really funny to watch Harry fret about losing Ginny and see him try so hard to win her back. It's great to see him treat her reverentially, and to have him acknowledge that it was a mistake to put her through hell when it wasn't really necessary. I guess JKR just wanted o have her in his life, but let the trio handle the Horcrux hunt. It's nice that you have given her more to do than sit and wait for Harry to return!

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks a bunch for taking time to review some of my older stories. This was one which I enjoyed writing, and I had the hardest time keeping under the 10000 word limit. It's fun to imagine these scenarios, and to wish that this is what happened in the books!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: DebbieO Signed Date: 2007.06.27 - 10:12AM Title: The Best Present of All

Hi again,

I saw that The Right Time came up just before bed. I'm off to read it. My kids are still snoozing...I love early morning and late night for reading.

After posting here, I had the funniest thought about Hugh Grant. He is one of my favorite British actors and I've been quite distressed that he hasn't been in the Harry Potter movies (of course, not all of them can be, but he is so great!). Just as I was about to fall asleep I realized that Hugh Grant would be a perfect older Harry if there is a movie applicable epilogue to Deathly Hallows. Dan Radcliffe even looks a little like a young Hugh! And Hugh's ability to come across as shy and reluctant while being unbelievably gorgeous is perfect for Harry.

The only other Harry Potter role I've ever thought Hugh could play was Gilderoy Lockhart, and Kenneth Branaugh did that so brilliantly that I wouldn't change a thing. He's another favorite of mine.

Am I crazy? Probably...don't answer that. :)

Author's Response: Hi Debbie! You and I are on the same wavelength - I thought that Hugh would have made a perfect Gilderoy; his role in Bridget Jones was sort of like a Lockhart, wasn't it? And yes, he can be an older Harry - the bumbling, clueless, loveable Harry we all know and lust after! LOL.

And if you're crazy, then I'm probably headed for the loony bin myself!



Reviewer: DebbieO Signed Date: 2007.06.27 - 12:28AM Title: The Best Present of All

starstarstarstarstar

Sense and Sensibility, one of my favorites, to be sure:

"My heart is, and always will be, yours." Love that Edward, especially as played by Hugh Grant...the handsomest cad that ever walked the earth. :)

Okay, enough reading for one night. Believe it or not, I read this, your Meeting Ginny story, Robin Hood and the Bible tonight. I'm not too into the telly, so...viva la internet! Thanks for another fun read.

Author's Response: Hi DebbieO. I just realised that about ten minutes after you wrote this review, I finally got the next chapter of The Right Time up! LOL. Anyway, that's probably a good thing, so you can catch up on your sleep.

I think you've noticed by now how much Hugh Grant figures into my stories! ;) Thanks for the review.



Reviewer: gryffindor lioness Signed Date: 2007.04.17 - 06:45AM Title: The Best Present of All

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: The Seeker Signed Date: 2007.04.15 - 05:26PM Title: The Best Present of All

starstarstarstarstar

Back again! What an absolutely charming tale. There were so many special moments I had to write them down as I read the story. Here are just a few that popped off the page (or more precisely, the computer screen):

The twins with their very specific vocabulary. Was it the Extendable Ears? Telling details, such as Elspeth's being founded in 999 1/4 BC. Who but you would think to make it 1/4? Very funny! Ron's interest in the Courtship Guide. You tell a whole story through those few brief mentions. The anti-theft protection on the ring, and Harry's unrepentant retribution. And finally, the best Christmas present . . . you. Whoa! I can envision lots of people melting at that ending! And without the twins' warming charm.

Alliteration challenge (from HH - you started it): Sassy Seamus sashaying seductively. Your turn!

More, please, you brilliant author!

Author's Response: Hi Jim. I wouldn't put it past the twins to have some Ears strategically placed around The Burrow. They probably have some everywhere. They could really run an effective spy network, couldn't they? This story wasn't supposed to be written, but I couldn't resist the challenge - fluff and Christmas! I'm very happy with how it turned out, and I do wish my husband had proposed to me that way. *sigh* Thanks again!



Reviewer: Katehc2 Signed Date: 2007.01.31 - 02:53PM Title: The Best Present of All

starstarstarstarstar

I just read one of your stories on another site so popped over here to read this one. It is delightful, full of memorable lines, even a bit of Austen.

I'm sure Ron will be able to use all of the information that he is getting from the book Harry borrowed from Seamus, of all people.

Author's Response: Hi katehc2. Thanks for taking time to read this story. I\'m glad you liked it, and yes, Ron will have learned some moves of his own!



Reviewer: GINNY__POTTER258 Signed Date: 2007.01.19 - 05:14PM Title: The Best Present of All

starstarstarstarstar

great story but there's a movie for sene and sensability! i own all of jane austen's books and i've just started to read that one...now i wanna watch that movie but i don't wanna watch it before i read the book like i did for pride and prejudice....anyways i really loved this story and the clue about the sense and sensability movie! ; )

Author's Response: Hi GINNY_POTTER258. The movie was a rather faithful adaptation of the book, and of course, it helped that Hugh Grant starred as Edward Farrars. Thanks for reading,



Reviewer: Chreechree Signed Date: 2007.01.17 - 09:23PM Title: The Best Present of All

starstarstarstarstar

Judged for challenge

Can I place that line? I have that movie memorized… well, close enough. When Edward says that, I want Eleanor to tackle him right then and there. Haven’t we had enough of being sensible at that point? Hugh is too adorable at that moment. That was a last minute edit or I would’ve gushed as it stood out to me a mile.

I want a spinoff about the seedy underbelly of Flobberworm racing. Love the story as you already know. So many wonderful lines and moments as usual. Where do you get them all? This might be my favorite of your Rons. Subtle and in the background, but so earnest when he finally makes his move with Hermione. Fantabulous!


Author's Response: Well, this fantabulous story is largely in part to your fantabulous beta-ing.

Ah yes, the grim world of Flobberworm racing. The smoke-filled air, the shouts of the goblin bookies, the smell of cabbages, the Flobberworms just lying uselessly about... sounds like a great film noir, eh? Let\'s ask Josh to write it.

And yes, it was a last minute edit, as I had just re-watched S and S right before I posted this story, and had the silly raptures over Hugh Grant\'s line. :) Besides, I think you were in MI when I posted this, but I knew you\'d spot that line at once!



Reviewer: Yunchao Signed Date: 2007.01.17 - 12:15AM Title: The Best Present of All

starstarstarstarstar

This story was amazing, It had everything in it and a lot of light humor which was good. It was very immersive and I lost track of time a couple of times when I was reading this, i guess that's a good sign haha. Anyway, that was awesome, good job!

Yunchao

Author's Response: Hi Yunchao. Thanks for reading the story. And yes, losing track of time while reading a story is good!



Reviewer: Jim McGuffin Signed Date: 2007.01.13 - 02:51AM Title: The Best Present of All

starstarstarstarstar

Judged for competition.

This is another one of your delightful challenge entries, and like all your others, I enjoyed this one very much. I like the unique ways you used the bonus lines, such as the very first line of this fic, “…and the ruby means… what, Ron? Harry?” which most challenge writers used when Harry considers buying a ruby ring for Ginny -- but you mention ruby as a potions ingredient.

Of course, Harry does end up buying a ring for Ginny. You came up with interesting stories regarding everyone's birthstones, especially Hermione's sapphire. Ron's right, it is fitting that her birthstone stands for wisdom because she's a know-it-all. LOL! Though it does leave me curious as to what Ginny's birthstone stands for.

You really have the twins almost blow it this time, with the ring almost stuck on Fred's finger. I'm not a Diana Jones fan (though my sister's read some of her works), so I'm not familiar with the trap, but it certainly makes sense. I'm glad that everything works out in the end despite the twins. The ending is very sweet, just as Jaq would have liked it.

Overall, excellent job as always. BTW, you're one of my favorite authors, yet I've fallen behind and missed reading some of your fics. I'll try to catch up and read some of your other fics soon. Meanwhile, I wish you luck in the challenge!

Author's Response: Hello Mr. McGuffin. I\'m happy to hear from you. I wasn\'t planning to enter this competition, but after recent sad events, I could not NOT write a story for Jaq. I did have a blast researching the meanings of the birthstones, and I wonder if JKR knew that the sapphire meant wisdom when she chose Hermione\'s birthday. And how appropriate is the aquamarine for Ron, eh? LOL. Interestingly, the peridot, Ginny\'s birthstone supposedly protects one from evil and from nightmares.

Thanks again for the review, and for the boost in confidence. Oh, and I have to say I enjoyed your cameo in St. Margaret\'s entry for PS Anniversary challenge!



Reviewer: Katastrophe Signed Date: 2007.01.09 - 02:07AM Title: The Best Present of All

starstarstarstarstar

Judged for Challenge.

Perfection in fluff and romance. Do I see a sequel in the near future? Harry and ginny enjoying their engagement and making plans...while Ron puts his intensive study of the courting material to use on a certain "know-it-all"?

Best of luck in the competition!

Author's Response: Hi Katastrophe. Having read your bio on your info page, I am quite honoured that you\'ve found the time to leave a review for this little story of mine. I appreciate it very much.

A sequel, huh? Well, I don\'t really know, as I\'ve always found that sequels don\'t really meet the standards of the original (whether story or movie - with the possible exception of the LOTR trilogy ;)) That said, I\'ll definitely think about it. Thanks again.



Reviewer: Frelling Signed Date: 2007.01.06 - 06:31PM Title: The Best Present of All

starstarstarstarstar

Ah, so lovely. I'm going into insulin shock reading all these stories for judging, and it's nice to see how each author handles the same idea in their own special way. Yours had me sighing and laughing alternately, between Harry's bumbling attempts to vocalize his various feelings ("She's Ginny" comes to mind) and the twins' misguided attempts to "help." I adore your writing and this story was no exception. Reviewed for judging, but I'd have read and reviewed this regardless!

Author's Response: Hi Frelling. I sort of went into sugar shock too, from all the fluff, but then I think that\'s a good thing as Harry needs a break now and then from all the stuff that he has to go through lately! Thank you for reading and for leaving a review.




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear