Search:

SIYE Time:7:13 on 16th May 2021


Reviewer: AlbusSeverus Signed Date: 2008.03.10 - 08:38PM Title: No Reindeer Were Injured During The Writing Of This Story

starstarstarstar

Nice story, I think most H&G comedies should include a scene where Luna is the most sane.

My Father-in-law sets reindeer traps on his roof every year. To think, that idea was shared by someone else :P

Author's Response: This was a pure fluff Christmas yarn that stepped out of the timeline a bit for the sake of the kids. Luna is the sanest person Spenser knows; that's why he has those gray hair. I'm glad that you enjoyed it. Thanks. Eric B.



Reviewer: magicalme Anonymous Date: 2007.01.28 - 09:52PM Title: No Reindeer Were Injured During The Writing Of This Story

starstarstarstarstar

Funny! Smart! Cool!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. Eric B.

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Chreechree Signed Date: 2007.01.19 - 02:51AM Title: No Reindeer Were Injured During The Writing Of This Story

starstarstarstarstar

Judged for Challenge

A very funny piece, as usual. You have a natural flair for the one liners. While I am not a coffee drinker, I am married to one. I think my favorite line, therefore, was when the coffee cauldron was tossed about and Spenser’s response: “Enough was enough! Now it was really getting personal”. Hee hee. And Luna would be the one of that group to know Santa. That was so perfect for her who believes in everything others don’t to not only believe but have a close relationship with them. And you don’t get much better in terms of setting than a proposal in Santa’s sleigh. Rudolph’s a drunk. I know it’s not good to laugh at alcoholism, but really, trying to get to the distillery. Hee hee again. Of course, creating this fanciful tale for the benefit of all the little ones adds an extra level of fun rather than it being one of their “real” adventures. Allows even greater suspension of disbelief than usual. This was very well written as usual and extremely entertaining. Good luck!


Author's Response: Actually Rudolph is allowed a bright nose in that manner only at Christmas. The rest of the year he is strictly on milk and hot cocoa. Luna really brings this plot together. While everyone else has their own grand ideas, she does something very simple, and then it all works out. Having this as a story for the Potter and Weasley children provided me with a couple of things. Not only din\'t this contradict last Christmas\' story, but I could get downright silly at times. I\'ve used Father Christmas/Santa before, and established an actual relationship between Luna and him, so how her family and he meet might be accurate in Spenser\'s telling. As for the coffee...not a bad idea. I could use a cup. It\'s time to get the cauldron...I mean auto-drip running. Thanks for reading. Eric B.



Reviewer: GINNY__POTTER258 Signed Date: 2007.01.18 - 07:36PM Title: No Reindeer Were Injured During The Writing Of This Story

starstarstarstarstar

fantastic story! so cute and humerous! i love how hermione said that mistletoe is entirely redundant that caused me to laugh really lous and for my little sister and my dog to stare at me from across the room! : )

Author's Response: Let the dog read the story. I\'ve done some research, and it turns out that they are a large part of my fan base. They never leave reviews however, and that basset hound tried to plagiarize one of my one-shot stories. Yes, it is pretty obvious that the last people to be needing mistletoe are Harry and Ginny. I’m glad that you liked it, and thank you for reading. Eric B.



Reviewer: Athea Signed Date: 2007.01.09 - 05:57PM Title: No Reindeer Were Injured During The Writing Of This Story

starstarstarstarstar

I love how you met the seventh year time-line aspect of the challenge. I thought it was extremely difficult to make that timing believable--it seemed a little rushed to me. I never thought of eliminating the need to make it believable by falsifying a family story. Very clever! And a home where mistletoe is entirely redundant?--what a lovely thought!

Author's Response: The use of the story within a story allowed this one not to have a conflict with last year\'s Challenge. Since it was essentially a story to children, it made a few silly moments possible, and the whole project just a little bit more fun to write. Thank you for reading. Eric B.



Reviewer: Katastrophe Signed Date: 2007.01.09 - 03:51PM Title: No Reindeer Were Injured During The Writing Of This Story

starstarstarstarstar

Well, now that I have giggled and laughed so much as to cause bodily harm, I can review. I should remember not to drink my Diet Pepsi while reading your stories. After having to bathe two of my cats to get the sticky pepsi out of their fur, I can review and get my nominations ready to be sent in.

Judging for the Challenge has been a challenge all in its own. Wonderful work, yet again. best of luck with the competition.

Author's Response: Oh not another liability claim! Sigh. I hope that you were away from the keyboard when it came out of your nose. Please tell me that no cats were injured during the reading of this story (poor Garfield). Thank you for reading. Eric B.



Reviewer: Frelling Signed Date: 2007.01.07 - 10:35AM Title: No Reindeer Were Injured During The Writing Of This Story

starstarstarstarstar

Very well done - I like how you managed to keep it in line with your universe and yet meet the challenge requirements. As always, I laughed out loud at several moments and thoroughly enjoyed reading this. Good luck in the challenge!

Author's Response: I wrote a story for last Christmas\' Challenge titled \"Love, Secrets and Organized Elves\". This year\'s story was created in such a way that it did not conflict with what Harry and the other\'s did in that one while exploring Hogwarts. One of my favorite effects is how all but one of my stories can interrelate to each other. This was an especially fun one to write as well, and since it was a story for the children, I could be silly at times. Thanks for reading. Eric B.



Reviewer: YelloWitchGrl Signed Date: 2007.01.02 - 09:01AM Title: No Reindeer Were Injured During The Writing Of This Story

starstarstarstarstar

:-) Just as I suspected, I was giggling through the whole thing. That was really really funny, very clever and an enjoyable read. Good job and good luck :-)

Author's Response: I hope that you weren\'t drinking eggnog at the time. That might have made a mess all over your keyboard. I am really glad that you liked it. Thanks for reading. Eric B.



Reviewer: Jim McGuffin Signed Date: 2007.01.01 - 07:55PM Title: No Reindeer Were Injured During The Writing Of This Story

starstarstarstarstar

Judged for competition.

As usual, your twisted sense of humor manifests itself in another hilarious challenge fic. Oh, where do I begin? It's funny how the twins ask Harry's intentions with their sister, and he tells them how he'll have his way with her then sell her. LOL! Exactly what NOT to say to your girlfriend's brothers. Then they all get drunk on eggnog. LOL! Not to mention what happened at the restaurant --

And so, for the second year in a row, Father Christmas/Saint Nicholas/Santa Claus appears in one of your challenge fics. I enjoyed the idea of having Luna be St. Nick's niece. A reindeer-pulled sleigh is certainly an exciting place for Harry to propose to Ginny.

Overall, excellent and funny as always. I wish you luck in the challenge!

Author's Response: I have been making use of Nicholas outside of Christmas challenges in another story. I actually created a slightly different relationship between Luna and him, but in context with this one. The twins are always a challenge since they are fantastic, and I do not want to misutilize them. The fun with this story, I think, lies both in what they try to do and in what someone else actually accomplishes despite them. \"Twisted sense of humor?\" That is why I have a chiropractor on retainer. Thank you for reading, Eric B.



Reviewer: Keira Azul Signed Date: 2007.01.01 - 06:27PM Title: No Reindeer Were Injured During The Writing Of This Story

starstarstarstarstar

Judged for Challenge:

Superb ending! I loved it, especially the world's largest lost and found..."rare first-edition volumes" ::drools:: and the mistletoe. Thank you for this delightful entry! Have a very happy New Year, and good luck with the competition! :)

Author's Response: I would enjoy this Challenge more, but we were slightly injured recently when our own mistletoe exploded. The kiss was worth it my wife says. I was going to elaborate some more on those first-edition volumes, to include some SIYE submissions, but finally decided that it would detract from the mood I was trying to achieve in that scene. Thank you very much for reading. Eric B.



Reviewer: kmagarden Signed Date: 2006.12.27 - 10:20PM Title: No Reindeer Were Injured During The Writing Of This Story

starstarstarstarstar

Hi, read/reviewing for judging ~

I actually forgot to review when I read this earlier, so please forgive my lack of detailed review. :-) Just loved your story. You definately have a way with words. I enjoy how you write Spencer into the series and just fit him in so naturally. I laughed out loud several times, great job! Good luck!

Author's Response: Spenser is how I can write in an otherwise British story since I am an American. A third-party observer allows me to take a different approach. I am glad that you enjoyed it. Thanks! Eric B.



Reviewer: Ginebra Wood Signed Date: 2006.12.18 - 04:47PM Title: No Reindeer Were Injured During The Writing Of This Story

starstarstarstarstar

Hola Eric!



Your fic is as good as always. I liked a lot the new name for the Death Eaters "Voldemort´s Fan Club" great one. I was laughing for five minutes non stop. My boyfriend was looking at me with a rised brow.



In general, all the story was really well written and as always you put in it an humoruous touch in the middle of a war.



I will judge you fic for the challenge. Good luck an Happy Christmas.

Author's Response: I hope that your boyfriend understands the crazy world that you sometimes visit. We have made a serious effort to prevent that fan club from marketing designer sweatshirts. I\'ve peeked at the rough draft for book seven (shh!), and originally Voldemort met his fate laughing his tail off at certain fan fiction. I am sure that JKR revised her final work. Thank you for reading. Eric B.



Reviewer: ginny4everandalways Signed Date: 2006.12.18 - 11:51AM Title: No Reindeer Were Injured During The Writing Of This Story

starstarstarstarstar

Very cute, and extremely humorous! It was a pleasure to read and judge your story! You had an extremely good plot line and flow throughout the story. Keep Writing!

Author's Response: You can count on me to keep writing, especially promoting our favorite couple. I am glad that you liked it, and thank you for reading! Eric B.



Reviewer: billybob Signed Date: 2006.12.16 - 10:00PM Title: No Reindeer Were Injured During The Writing Of This Story

starstarstarstarstar

very good as always, up to your usual insanity. Just do your readers one small favor...never change normal on you would be way too boring

Author's Response: Normal? Me? It will never happen. Thank you for reading. Eric B.



Reviewer: PatronyBologna Signed Date: 2006.12.13 - 06:10PM Title: No Reindeer Were Injured During The Writing Of This Story

starstarstarstarstar

Oh my goodness! I have no idea where you get this stuff, but it's great! I'm trying to decide if this was you or the Nyquil talking! No, it was wonderful and a pleasure to read. Spense.... I just want to hug the boy! Congrats are due for Ron and Hermione, an added bonus! Do you think Tillamook will add moonberry to their holiday flavors? I'm still smiling.... ~Patrony :)

Author's Response: I just finished this before the bronchitis hit, so the Nyquill medicine had not taken effect as yet. Spenser has been getting quite a few hugs this Christmas, and we think that Molly Weasley may have popped a rib. Actually I think that he is faking it so that Luna dotes on him. The Tillamook Creamery actually has approached us regarding the moonberries, but we are holding out for a few more Galleons and a pound of Burundian Kowtowing dark roast coffee. Thanks for reading! Eric B.



Reviewer: Valandar Signed Date: 2006.12.13 - 01:16AM Title: No Reindeer Were Injured During The Writing Of This Story

starstarstarstarstar

Just from the title, I could tell this was one of yours. You have one of the most distinct writing styles on this site (or any other), and I'm beginning to wonder if you're not a pro in disguise. Outstanding little story, and I loved all the little touches (like the exploding mistletoe). :D

Author's Response: Believe me, I wish that I was a professional, or at least knew how to get there. Titles are surprisingly important to a story. Not only do they get your attention, but they are also a summary in a few words and can set the tone for reading. Thank you for reading. Eric B.



Reviewer: aprilmoon92 Signed Date: 2006.12.12 - 01:24AM Title: No Reindeer Were Injured During The Writing Of This Story

starstarstarhalf-star

haha, that was really funny. Hope you win humor, Eric (: cheers

Author's Response: Thank you very much. Eric B.



Reviewer: Yunchao Signed Date: 2006.12.12 - 12:04AM Title: No Reindeer Were Injured During The Writing Of This Story

starstarstarstarstar

Very Nice Story!! It was brilliantly put together, and it really gave a sence or realism to the story. I was able to really get into the story and enjoyed it immensly. I'm a judge so please visit my profile and email me if you decide to change or edit this story however I think it's very good as is.

Cheers!
Yunchao

Author's Response: The realism provides a nice balance to the humor. Without it, all I have is a cartoon. I like the fluff, romance and occasional adventure. I don\'t forsee any edits, unless I discover a misspelled word somewhere. Thanks for reading. Eric B.



Reviewer: carolquin Signed Date: 2006.12.11 - 11:02PM Title: No Reindeer Were Injured During The Writing Of This Story

starstarstarstarhalf-star

spencer,

this review is for judging and entertaiment purposes...

i absolutely loved it! you have a wonderful ability to incorporate yourself into your stories...and you fit in just fine.

your dry wit and sarcasm is absolutely brilliant. i laughed and laughed as i read this story. and did anyone else that has reviewed catch the potter child's name??? sherman potter?!?!! i could not stop laughing. are you a m.a.s.h. fan?

this story will be hard to beat...

carolyn

Author's Response: Actually, Spenser is completely independent of me...or I try to keep him that way. I based him upon some friends\' children. I am much older and meaner...picture a Grinch. I do appear as myself in one story (manning a SIYE booth at a convention). I came up with Sherman Troy (yes \"T\") Potter in \"Tromed Love\" and used the boy once more in \"A Working Title\". Yes, that is where I got him--M*A*S*H. You should see what I did to \"Old Man Potter...the meanest man in Bedford Falls.\" Thank you for reading. Eric B.



Reviewer: lecook4 Signed Date: 2006.12.11 - 11:01PM Title: No Reindeer Were Injured During The Writing Of This Story

starstarstarstarstar

Chin Lee’s Bistro, it’s the best Mexican food in Diagon Alley. LOL! I think I've been there.

“Actually my lad, I left Tom Riddle and his friends frozen reindeer dung. Father Christmas doesn’t like Dark Wizards. LOL!!!! "We’re expecting a heavy fog over the southeastern United States tonight. That’s actually a good thing considering all the deer rifles in that region.” :-) I spent a large portion of my youth in the piney woods of east Texas and understand Santa's concerns about deer rifles. LOL!!!

Poor Harry and Ginny. I'm glad they finally got to fly off in the sleigh for some private time.I kind of think Ginny would look cute with plaid hair. Thanks for the holiday fun.

Author's Response: I\'ve been to that restaurant as well, and my stomach still hurts. I have a few puns here and there, but the real fun is seeing everyone succeed despite themselves. Thanks for reading, and Merry Christmas (wait until you see what I do in the Christmas chapter coming up). Eric




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear