Search:

SIYE Time:8:42 on 16th May 2021

Reviews For Salvation

Reviewer: indywriter Signed Date: 2018.04.28 - 04:41PM Title: Reparations

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I know this is an old story, but I just found it :)

This was a sweet story, and I really enjoyed it. I especially liked that Molly knew what was going on and was supportive. So many stories have her so overprotective of Ginny that it's hard to remember that Molly loved Harry too. She wouldn't have been opposed to their match, though perhaps thinking they should wait... Anyway, I liked that she knew everything and let the kids think they still had one over on her.



Reviewer: DanielBonnie28 Signed Date: 2009.09.23 - 06:26PM Title: Reparations

starstarstarstarstar

cute story!!!



Reviewer: UnorthodoxConvention Signed Date: 2007.07.12 - 05:48AM Title: Reparations

starstarstarstarstar

Great story! :)



Reviewer: Keira Azul Signed Date: 2007.01.19 - 07:04PM Title: Reparations

starstarstarstarstar

Judged for competition:

Don't apologize for breaking the word count with a story like this. It was sweet and real, and poor porr Ginny, I knew she wouldn't vomit at Harry's romantic moment for no reason. You did a wonderful job, and I'm so glad you entered :) Hope you're having a happy New Year and good luck!

~Meg



Reviewer: GINNY__POTTER258 Signed Date: 2007.01.19 - 04:05AM Title: Reparations

starstarstarstarstar

you definately did wrap it up nicely with the big red bow and all! Great story! : ) so cute!



Reviewer: Chreechree Signed Date: 2007.01.19 - 03:52AM Title: Reparations

starstarstarstarstar

Judged for challenge

Ah, poor Harry. I knew he should’ve probably waited for a verbal answer. Never assume it’s a no unless you hear her say “no”. Yes, more romantic Ginny’s way, but yikes that’s a rough couple of days for him, especially as she acted as if nothing at all had happened. Ouch. I’m going to make you suffer so we can have a more romantic story for the kids. Again, ouch. Well, it worked out in the end, and all is right with the two of them… other than that whole Voldemort thing, but we’ll worry about that tomorrow. And the salvation line was wonderfully fluffy. Very enjoyable read. Good luck!



Reviewer: GINNY__POTTER258 Signed Date: 2007.01.19 - 03:45AM Title: Preparations

starstarstarstarstar

definately in the right direction. the only odd thing is that ron and hermione got married first and didn't tell harry i've always imagined that they would tell harry and that ginny and harry would get married before ron and hermione or on the same day like a double wedding type thing. yea it's odd though cause i've alwsy thought that so it's like no that's not right they shared their wedding day then i clue in that i'm reading a different story! the change is good though! great chapter! : )



Reviewer: Chreechree Signed Date: 2007.01.19 - 03:31AM Title: Preparations

starstarstarstarstar

Judged for Challenge

Oh, but you can’t be angry with Neville. It’s pretty much impossible. I think the strain is about to do poor Harry in. And while things are going well for Ron and Hermione, it is amusing for Harry to be asking Ron for advice on his love life – because Ron is such a smooth operator. Hee hee. He’s doing a good job helping Harry out. Can’t wait to see the end. Great read.



Reviewer: GINNY__POTTER258 Signed Date: 2007.01.19 - 03:24AM Title: Declarations

starstarstarstarstar

ron's so stupid he wasn't delusional please! he's such a cool character though! great chapter! ; )



Reviewer: Chreechree Signed Date: 2007.01.19 - 03:09AM Title: Declarations

starstarstarstarstar

Judged for challenge

Hmmmm. Keeping their marriage a secret so as to not make Harry feel left out or keeping such a huge secret from (cough lying to cough) their best friend. I think I’d be extremely hurt if I was Harry, but at least he’s handling it well. And there’s nothing that says “I love you” like vomiting when proposed to. Nice! Excellent start.



Reviewer: Katastrophe Signed Date: 2007.01.09 - 03:16PM Title: Reparations

starstarstarstarstar

Judged for the challenge.

Best of luck in the competition~

Author's Response: Thanks! Patrony :)



Reviewer: Frelling Signed Date: 2007.01.07 - 10:00AM Title: Reparations

starstarstarstar

Reviewed for judging. Very well done! The structure you chose is difficult to pull off, but you acquitted yourself well. Poor Harry, spending two days without knowing what the heck was going on, but what a payoff in the end. Good luck with the challenge!

Author's Response: Wow! A \'very well done\' from you is... humbling to say the least. Yeah, I\'m getting a lot of slack about Harry. And here I thought skewering him through the middle would be the bell ringer. I\'m thinking that I should have written the \'Spiff Your Biscuits\' proposal on Christmas Eve... then the torture would be less than 24hrs. Hindsight is always 20/20. Oh well, live and learn. At any rate, thanks for trudging thorugh my entry when technically speaking it wasn\'t required. I\'m honored. ~Patrony :)



Reviewer: Jim McGuffin Signed Date: 2007.01.06 - 11:02PM Title: Reparations

starstarstarstarstar

Judged for competition.

Our first multichaptered entry! And don't worry about the excess word count.

It's definitely tricky to write a challenge entry that begins "in medias res," which is Latin for "in the middle of things" -- that is to say, starting right in the middle of the action and having a flashback rather than going in a strict chronological order. I noticed that some your earlier reviewers criticized you for starting this way. I disagree -- it is an established writing technique that's existed for millennia, and it takes some skill to pull it off well.

And so this fic begins on an angsty note, with Ginny becoming very sick when Harry first tries to propose to her. Yes, it must have been a tough couple of days for Harry. So Fred and George were the ones to make her sick -- albeit indirectly. Of course everything works out in the end for Harry and Ginny, and so they are now happily engaged. I like the idea of the magical engagement/"mood ring."

It's interesting how you refer to Ron/Hermione as Mr./Mrs. Weasley several times throughout the fic.

Overall, excellent job as always. I wish you luck in the challenge.

Author's Response: Hi Jim! \"In medias res\" was my intention from the get-go, whether I knew the actual name of the format or not. I wanted the reader to ask the why\'s and how\'s and tempt them to come back for the answers. I was beginning to think I had fallen flat on my face, that I had tripped trying to clear that particular hurdle. Thanks for dusting me off a bit. It is a challenge, right? This story turned out a bit more angsty than I had anticipated. I just couldn\'t have Harry shrug his shoulders and say \'Hey Ginny, let\'s get married.\' Something needed to happen, to make him see the light at the end of his very dark tunnel. Ron had it right, \'things become remarkably clear when your hanging on.\' Too bad it often takes a dire situation to throw the switch to such a lightbulb moment. I found it interesting that another entry followed the same suggestion. My fingers are crossed that Ron really did have his own lightbulb moment on his birthday, \"Er-mine-ee\". I really enjoyed the relationship between Ron and Harry, though it was more than a bit OOC. I found it ironic that Ron had figured out something before Harry did and it was Ron leading the way, offering up his support. Yeah, poor Harry, but let\'s not forget Ginny! Magical chocolates aside, getting sick during or immediately after a proposal is not wholly unheard of. lol Fred and George are not that cruel... it was an accident. Thanks for the nod on the \'mood\' ring. Hermione\'s coin idea for the DA meetings and Fred and George\'s intrest in \'Muggle Magic\'. In all, I hope that I tied all my loose ends together, if not in a big red bow. Your reviews are always thoughtful and I really do appreciate them, Jim. ~Patrony :)



Reviewer: kmagarden Signed Date: 2007.01.03 - 09:50PM Title: Reparations

starstarstarstarstar

Reading/reviewing as a judget. I really enjoyed your story! Neat plot, and fairly well written. There were a few typos throughout though. There were also a few LOL moments, like when Ron said not to hex him from beyond, he didn't think he'd have much say in naming their kids. :-) I can TOTALLY see that, too funny. Ugh, I knew I should have jotted them down as I was reading - drawing a complete blank now, sorry! But I did think it was quite cruel to leave Harry hanging like that for 2 days! Without even acknowledging what happened! I know everyone wanted to make it special for him, but to put him through 2 days of torture, I can't see eveyone thinking that a good idea. But it did make for a nice plot, poor Ginny - can you imagine throwing up as you're proposed to?! Liked their rings too.

Author's Response: Darn typos! I know, it was very cruel to make Harry suffer for so long- too long. I just wanted the moment by the lake to be intense. Harry need to feel his loss of Ginny to fully appreciate her declaration- that no matter what, Ginny was his. Looking back, I could have shorten his suffering and from now on, if I write anything else, I won\'t be so cruel and for the record, neither is Fred and George! Thanks, Kmagarden! ~Patrony :)



Reviewer: melindaleo Signed Date: 2006.12.21 - 10:52AM Title: Reparations

starstarstarstar

Aww, poor Harry. That was a sweet ending, but awfully mean thing to do to him! I loved how it took getting hurt to make him realize what she meant to him. How very Harry. I loved his and Ron's relationship in this one, too.

Author's Response: Poor Harry is right! Mean? Maybe... I just think everybody wanted to make it up to him. Getting hurt- yeah, he needed something to make him wake up and smell the something flowery! I really do think that Ron had the same experience in HBP after his birthday. I have to wonder about his and Hermione\'s sudden disappearances! lol Ron may have been a bit OOC- well, I guess they all were a bit OOC, but I really adore the relationship between the trio, especially with Ron. Thanks Melindaleo! ~Patrony :)



Reviewer: ginny4everandalways Signed Date: 2006.12.18 - 11:49AM Title: Reparations

starstarstar

As a judge, I thought this was an ok story. You didnn't really seem to address all the requirements and going back and forth between time was a little confusing (especially when you started new chapters). If I had just been a redaer withiout judging the story I would have liked it. Your concept and plot was good, but the actual execution of the story could be better. Keep Writing!

Author's Response: Thanks, ~Patrony



Reviewer: cwarbeck Signed Date: 2006.12.14 - 06:47PM Title: Reparations

starstarstarstarstar

Hey Stacey. I do love your story, I've said that, right? This chapter was brilliant, but like I told you, I was feeling really sorry for Harry having to suffer for two (at least it wasn't more, eh?) whole days thinking that Ginny had turned him down! Poor dear. I think the scene with the greatest impact on me was the one by the lake: first Harry saying: "I thought I'd lost you" in that broken voice and then Ginny answering “You have me, Harry— you always will.” *sigh*

Lovely.

Thanks for letting me be a part of this.

~cel

Author's Response: Hey Cel... I promise not to make Harry suffer more than he needs to. I\'m so grateful that you\'ve been kind enough to lend me your wisdom on this. Your support and compliments are... well, I sit in awe at the keyboard. Thanks much, ~Stacey



Reviewer: Ginebra Wood Signed Date: 2006.12.14 - 05:32PM Title: Reparations

starstarstarstarstar

Good One!at first I thougth that the twin have left the chcolates box on pourpose, but they can´t be that mean, can they? I got a little lost in the second chapter with Harry´s injury an all, but that was onlu for a moment. The idea about the violins was great.

I will judge this fic for the challenge. Good luck.

Author's Response: Hi Ginebra! No, the twins didn\'t leave the chocolates there on purpose. I think they had a Christmas party to attend that night where they weren\'t exactly excited about host. I\'m sure the comments of \'all night\' and \'merry sunshine something or another\' were directed to Harry and Ginny and how happy they would be engaged. Hmm, the part where Fred and George explain that they know that had happened earlier in the summer, (chapter 1) maybe? Sorry. I tried to create enough confusion to keep things interesting. Oh!! So glad you liked the faerie lights and violins... Good luck to you too! ~Patrony :)



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2006.12.14 - 01:31PM Title: Reparations

starstarstarstarstar

Okay...everyone that thought that Ginny getting sick like that was something else, raise your hand. Aha! You are a very mischievous person. This was the perfect end to a great story. We should have known that nothing would get past Molly Weasley that way, and her reaction was surprising. I think that someone needs to buy Mr. Weasley a Muggle science kit or an errector set, although that particular gift was certainly nice. Your story just begs for a sequel. Thanks. Eric B.

Author's Response: Really? What else could it have been? Nerves... I can see that happening..*cough,cough* I thought that Molly\'s reaction was perfect. You think that she would have it the fan, but if you go back to when she was talking about how young her and Arthur were, (HBP, Ch 5) that they were different than Bill and Fleur because they \'were meant for each other\' I thought that given how long Ron and Hermione had been friends, how much Hermione was already a part of the Weasley\'s, it was almost to be expected. The microwave was the best I could come up with... it does seem magical, doesn\'t it? Wow, what a compliment... a sequel? I wouldn\'t know where to begin, end, and all the creamy white filling in the middle. I wish I was so creative, Spenser is a work of pure genius! I really appreciate all your comments, Eric! ~Patrony :)



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2006.12.14 - 01:15PM Title: Preparations

starstarstarstarstar

I am exceptionally please that the relationship with Hogwarts was maintained. I've always felt that the school is a microcosm for their entire Wizarding world, and almost a character in itself. The scenes with Fred and George were very well played. You involved them by dangling that string, but they still are not privy to everything. This will allow their help (interference), but still keep us on the edge of our seats as to what is about to happen. Poor Harry; you really have to feel for the guy and what he is going through. You've set us up for a wonderful finale. Thanks. Eric B.

Author's Response: Keep your fingers crossed! I feel the same way. They have to go back to Hogwarts, it just wouldn\'t be the same without it. The twins are always fun. Yeah, poor, poor Harry. I hate to be so cruel. ~Patrony :)




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear