Search:

SIYE Time:12:27 on 22nd June 2017

Reviews For

Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2011.04.02 - 08:43PM Title: Chapter 2

starstarstarstarstar

At last he's safe. I can't believe Professor Dumbledore sending him to a home, a muggle one at that, after he had directly stated he didn't want to go in a home. It seems Dumbledore is being as careless this time as he was before.

i wonder what Remus is finding out. I think maybe Dumbledore did find out that Adam was related to the Potters but obvioulsy cant believe it...although he did say if it was right the wizarding world would be in dire straits and I think Adam being Harry Potter would be anything but that.

Author's Response: Thanks! Remus will certainly be busy this year.



Reviewer: Birlan Signed Date: 2009.11.10 - 12:08PM Title: Chapter 2

starstarstarstar

Another interesting chapter--it was nice to see that Molly's maternal instincts finally reached all the way to Adam. Ginny was in a very interesting dilemma, where she kept Adam's confidences, even though there were very good reasons for her not to do so. I wonder if the Weasley's will feel any sense of obligation to Adam or if they will (maybe) help him just because he needs help and no one else is looking out for him. The former might poison their relationship with him. I will be interested in seeing how Ron treats Adam if they are living in the same house. My guess is badly.

I figure that Dumbledore will continue in his lack of concern over Adam--if the Weasleys are willing to foster him, then that's just as good as if the Minstery sends him to an abusive orphanage, or frankly if he was living with the trash bins as Dumbledore was willing to leave him at the beginning--Adam is somewhere and it really doesn't matter where. Since Adam can't be a Potter and Voldemort is gone, Dumbledore doesn't have any reason to try to send him the Dursley's. I think we will find out that Dumbledore believes that Adam is a Potter when and if he finally tries to imprison Harry in Little Whinging.

I am most puzzled by the lack of notices about improper use of magic. If you are following canon, where the notices appear almost immediately, then whatever is hiding him from correspondence owls is also hiding him from those notices. Which sounds pretty darn useful to me. When and if he figures out that he has a free pass on the underage use of magic, and Adam runs into Kyle again. we will find out if Dumbledore has actually created a new Riddle from his neglect of Harry--I guess not.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Very interesting thoughts, though not much I can say without giving anything away.



Reviewer: Kage James Signed Date: 2009.11.10 - 10:44AM Title: Chapter 2

starstarstarstarstar

No Review

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: DukeBrymin Signed Date: 2009.11.09 - 07:22PM Title: Chapter 2

starstarstarstarstar

Squee! So happy that Adam found his way to the Burrow!

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2009.11.09 - 06:19PM Title: Chapter 2

I think it may be time that they all need to look in to see what haryr adam is going on and allow him to stay where he is welcomed....kutgw

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: hp_fanatic Signed Date: 2009.11.09 - 03:41PM Title: Chapter 2

starstarstarstarstar

please update! You wrote a great chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: bengpotter31 Signed Date: 2009.11.09 - 09:05AM Title: Chapter 2

starstarstarstarstar

Finally, Adam is at the Burrow. Will Dumbledore let him stay? I doubt Molly will turn him away. I bet McGonagall will be very angry at the Ministry for what they did to Adam. Will she be disappointed in Dumbledore for trusting the Ministry to do right by Adam? I would be. I hope you update soon.

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: Professor_Chris Signed Date: 2009.11.09 - 07:14AM Title: Chapter 2

starstarstarstarstar

Another great chapter I am glad that Adam was able to escape and wasn't too upset to think about going to Ginny's. I certainly hope Dumbledore doesn't try and send him somewhere else or if he does that the Weasley's will not let him.

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: HGRHfan35 Signed Date: 2009.11.09 - 04:59AM Title: Chapter 2

starstarstarstarstar

thank goodness he is out of there!
Knight Bus, never even thought of that one but it makes sense.

But why couldn't the owls find him. Not because if was at a muggle home, was it.

And why did it take McG. so long to look for Adam. She must have gotten Ginny's letter on the 2th, so it took her more than 5 days?
I'll bet that there is more to that story that I hope to hear more about.

And Dumbly will get an ear full from Molly, another thing to look forward to.

And Sirius, where will he fit in.

This was really good!



Author's Response: Well, when I thought out the timescales here, Ginny sent the letter on the 1st right before she went to bed. So I wouldn\'t have thought McGonagall would have received it much before the third. Then she had to go and talk to Dumbledore, then go to the ministry to find out where they had sent them, and then go the home.



Reviewer: Nyeshet Signed Date: 2009.11.09 - 02:24AM Title: Chapter 2

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I still do not understand why Harry did not use accidental magic. Is there some type of repression ward over the orphanage (as it seems a place where the Ministry of Magic regularly drops off Muggleborns with no where to stay)? Also, why has he not used purposeful wandless magic? Excluding the punch, he alluded to the ability to teleport during the first story, not to mention having aluded to common use of various minor charms as I recall. Has using a wand robbed him of some of his power / talent? Yet he still managed the enhanced punch ...?

I would guess from his reactions that he killed (or thinks he killed) another orphan at some point in the past? If I recall correctly he nearly killed two muggers that nearly killed him in the first story, although I guess it would be different if it were against a child near his own age. Also, I do not think he is aware of the damage he did to those two muggers. I cannot recall McGonagall telling him about it, although I may be misrecalling.

I'm glad he finally left, although I'm still surprised it took so long. For someone used - and able - to live on the streets, is the extra meal or two a day truly worth the bruises and harassment? Perhaps it is only my own personal views getting in the way of my analysis, but I know that I would have long left already. Maybe I'm just not getting well enough into Harry's head? Its true that he chooses endurance over independence in canon, but then he has no experience with nor perhaps any ability to survive on the streets in canon, so it is not necessarily a valid comparison. I will have to think on this further, I think.

It is summer, so warmth is not an issue, although as you showed rain can be an issue if he is unprepared (ie: has not yet found a place to stay). If letters cannot find him, I somehow doubt that purposeful magic detection will notice him either (the 'Alomohora' charm), although if it presumes all magic at the orphanage comes from him, then it is likely to be associated with him anyway. He is likely completely in the clear for the 'Lumos' charm, as it was some distance from the orphanage - well beyond any likely detection wards. But this presumes magical forms of detection can find him at all, and except for the Hogwarts letter we have no proof that is true - especially considering that owls cannot find him. So I guess that is still up in the air at this point. (Minor quibble - it is 'lose', not 'loose at this point.' )

On the other hand, the Hogwarts letter looks for magical children - not by name but by nature, likely writing both name and location based upon the child's own awareness of such. So perhaps it is only specific wards and spells - those that would look for 'Adam Winter' specifically rather than a magical child generally - that fail. Thus owls cannot find him, for they look for a specific person who in fact does not exist. A detection ward over the orphanage might detect his use of the door unlocking charm, however, as it is a general use of magic detected, and it is assumed to be him due to his being the only magical child known to be present at the location. Lumos is still okay, however, as it was some distance from the orphanage.

That must be a rather large rain storm. Either that or he was already in or near Devon. Maybe the orphanage was in Exeter? That is a short distance west of Ottery St Mary (the real world version of Ottery St Catchpole), so the weather is likely to be the same. Bournemouth and Poole in Dorset (to the east of Devon) also have sizable populations (100k-150k) and so might have an orphanage or two within them. Bristol is a bit of a ways further away (to the NE), but it might also have similar weather and so could also work. Of course, I may be over-analyzing this.

I'm glad he was accepted at the Weasleys, although I'm just a little bit surprised at well he got along with Molly at first, considering their last meeting. (Minor quibble: 'He wanted her to the story.' Maybe it is missing the word 'tell' ?)

I wonder what Albus' reaction will be? On the one hand, he does not quite trust 'Adam,' but on the other, staying with the Weasleys is likely to both encourage Adam towards the Light and will allow him to better keep an eye on him.

The Ministry of Magic is likely not to care if a magical family fosters a muggleborn orphan (which basically is what it would be, if the Weasleys took in 'Adam' each summer), so they are unlikely to raise any issues - at least until it is revealed who Adam really is. At that point they may try to change where he is staying, but if he has stayed with the Weasleys already for a summer or two, they may have less of a leg to stand on. While poor, one cannot deny that they are pureblood and know the culture / customs of the Magical World. If they have demonstrated an ability to adequately look after 'Adam' despite their lack of wealth, it will be a point in their favor when his identity is revealed.

I'm a little surprised the Weasleys are still at home, however, as by this time they were already in Egypt in canon. I guess that means they did not win the lottery this time around.

I'm looking forward to the next chapter.



Author's Response: Firstly thanks for catching the typo\'s I\'ll correct them later today.
Adam\'s past and the incidents that cause him to fear somewhat his accidental magic will be made clear, My view on his restraint here is that he has learnt control at Hogwarts. As to why he stayed there so long, my view, was that he views staying in the home as his way back to Hogwarts and he absolutely does not want to risk that he can\'t go back. He must really have been at the end of his tether to leave. To be fair he was extremely lucky in his escape, accidentally summoning a magical bus with a conductor who knew where Ginny was...... who would have thought it.
And yes it is still curious that the Weasleys are still at home.



Reviewer: jediprankster Signed Date: 2009.11.09 - 01:49AM Title: Chapter 2

starstarstarstar

You know, considering some of the questions I asked in reviews on the last story, I'm surprised I didn't figure it out sooner. Adam isn't getting any letters because Ginny is addressing them to Adam Winters. That's clearly not his name.

I can't wait to see how Molly deals with the Ministry about where they placed Adam. I like how you parallel some of the canon events in different ways. Instead of Dudley and his gang beating Harry up, it's another kid. Instead of fleeing after blowing up Aunt Marge, he is fleeing after severely injuring Kyle. Different situation, similar occurrences. Perhaps some things are fated to happen?

I like it. Keep it up.

Author's Response: Thanks! Perhaps.... actually when I wrote this I didn\'t intend to parallel PoA but it\'s just the way it came out and it worked. You\'ve nearly got it right as to why the Owl\'s can\'t find him.



Reviewer: Lazy Lazuli Signed Date: 2009.11.09 - 12:20AM Title: Chapter 2

I love it! It's perfect! But I'm getting a little too used to hearing Harry as Adam

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream Signed Date: 2009.11.08 - 11:56PM Title: Chapter 2

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Adam may be safe for now... but I rather wonder what Minerva will find -- and how she will react.

And somehow, I suspect that we may not have seen the last of Kyle.

It's rather convenient that Stan knew where the Weasleys live, eh? :-}

Author's Response: Thanks! My reasoning there the wizarding world is relatively small, in terms of population size, so he must have taken them back to the Burrow several times



Reviewer: Comet Moon Signed Date: 2009.11.08 - 11:26PM Title: Chapter 2

starstarstarstarstar

The battle for Adam begins.

In one corner, Albus Dumbasadoor. The only one allowed an opion.

In the side corner, Minvera Mcgonagal. Trusting of Albus to much, but a good heart.

In the other side corner, the Weasleys. Molly and Arthur, also to trusting (To the max) but indebted to Adam for Ginny's life, as well as parents and caregivers extordinare. Percy, Trusts the ministry too much and doesn't let almost anything get in the way of his ambition. The Twins, in the grey area. Good hearted, but issues on trust as seen in not even listening to Adam and endangering their sister, may have left bad feeling that can be hinderances in the future. And Ron. Git.

And in the other corner. The firery fury herself. Empowered with the heart of a Lion, the intelect of a raven, the faithfulness to adam of a badger, and the cunning of the snake, Ginny Weasley.

My money is on Ginny.


Nice chapter


Look forward to more

Ja ne

Jim

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: LeprechaunJV Signed Date: 2009.11.08 - 09:31PM Title: Chapter 2

starstarstarstarstar

No Review

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: Ginny Guerra Signed Date: 2009.11.08 - 09:25PM Title: Chapter 2

starstarstarstar

Still a few typos and missing commas, but interesting chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: Lord Dreadnault Signed Date: 2009.11.08 - 09:18PM Title: Chapter 2

starstarstarstarstar

Lots of progress- I'm glad to see it. I can't wait to see what else you've cooked up for "Adam" this year.


Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2009.11.08 - 08:32PM Title: Chapter 2

starstarstarstarstar

Great chapter! I'm glad Adam got out of there. I hope Dumbledore will let him stay :)

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: Chrysanthemum Signed Date: 2009.11.08 - 06:49PM Title: Chapter 2

starstarstarstarstar

Awesome. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: hpf2114 Signed Date: 2009.11.08 - 06:41PM Title: Chapter 2

starstarstarstarstar

No Review

Author's Response: Thanks!




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear